We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the heart of Asheville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Asheville Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Boone
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Luxury in the heart of Asheville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Renaissance staff exceeds expectations. Hotel amenities including the covered patio make for a perfect environment for larege and small cluster meetings. A treat was the Renaissance proximity to the Thomas Wolfe Museum. The treasured artifacts were a history lesson that this author deeply appreciated. The lobby and my room are beautifully appointed. I highly recommend the Renaissance where you can stroll close by and enjoy local artisans and other local businessl.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    364
    177
    51
    23
See reviews for
145
367
38
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a very nice room despite the fact that it was small. It is a great location, close to the downtown area. Asheville has wonderful craft/artisan stores and maintains a small town feel. There are many bars and restaurants.

The lobby of the hotel is pretty and the breakfast was very good. Check in was uneventful and the front desk was able to help us identify routes so that we were able to navigate a wheelchair around town, despite the hills.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Renaissance and wish I could have stayed longer. My room was on the tenth floor with a beautiful view of the mountains. The bed, pillows, linens were immaculate and very comfortable. The room was well appointed and the bathroom fresh and bright. The hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful. I stayed here a few years ago also, and was glad to see that their standards have remained high.

Room Tip: The entire hotel is non- smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nice hotel right in the middle of downtown Asheville. Walking distance to many restaurants, bars and other attractions in the downtown area. The bar and lobby area were nicely renovated. However, the rooms still could use a little work. They were very clean and well maintained but were a little outdated and a little old for our tastes. I see good things on the horizon for the hotel, though, if they plan to do more renovations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our trip to Asheville was wonderful! The hotel location made it very convenient to get to the Biltmore and Skyline Drive. We could easily walk to stores and restaurants downtown. I can't say enough good things about the staff, especially the bartender! The room was very clean and comfortable. Free, easily accessible wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice employees. Very helpful. Located in downtown and able to walk everywhere. Free parking. Clean facility. Can't go wrong with a Marriott. Room service was able to accommodate a special request. The bathroom is a tight squeeze but still up to date.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We just stayed at the Renaissance Asheville, it's an attractive hotel and it seems that they are booked frequently with conventions and meetings. We were there Tuesday through Saturday for a working vacation. First off, the rooms are really small, the closet door, the bathroom door and the door to the room all come together and hit each other. It's very crowded. There is not mirror in the room other than the bathroom. Ventilation is horrible, no fan in the bathroom and in order to keep the humidity down the thermostat was set at 68 degrees. It was a bit chilly. We moved it to 70 and the room become very stuffy and uncomfortable. The room really needs a ceiling fan or some other sort of ventilation. The room was not especially clean, the bathroom had been redone, and it was attractive, but the tub and shower enclosure were old and a little moldy looking, the faucet didn't work so well and there was a stained drop ceiling over the shower. I guess for what we paid, (which I thought was too much) this would have been a great room in NYC, there I could understand the issues the room has just because it's a big city. There is no excuse for the hotel to have the issues this one did other than plain old bad design. To add insult to injury I wound up with a raging case of strep throat the day we left and i wouldn't be surprised it I picked it up at the hotel. Plus several cars were broken into in the parking lot the morning we were leaving. We saw people vacuuming up broken glass. We have been to Asheville many times and for the money I say stay someplace like the Haywood Park Hotel. It an older hotel but the rooms are large and very clean and the location can't be beat. My husband booked the hotel this time and we agreed that neither of us would want to stay here again. And I'll also say this is the first time I've ever written a negative review, I'm pretty laid back and usually can find the good in just about any situation but i really felt that the rate we were charged for what we got was ridiculous. I'd hate for someone else to spend their money on this place unless it was being paid for by their work expense account.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We are so sorry that you were dissatisfied with your recent stay. Please call to speak with me as I would personally like the opportunity to make this right for you. I am here Wednesday-Sunday from 3PM-11PM.
Sincerely,
Michelle Porche'
Front Office Supervisor
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
828-252-8211
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Address: 31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
#26 Family Hotel in Asheville
#27 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Asheville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.