We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & nicely updated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Asheville Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Location & nicely updated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Husband and I stayed here for the asheville wine & food festival so we could walk everywhere. Nice and unexpected decorations for a hotel in NC - really enjoyed the sleek design and modern bedroom furniture.

Only minor miss was shower - drained very slow and could tell from tile it did not get the same level of facelift the rest of the room did.

We had great service and bed was comfortable - fabulous location if you want to explore downtown Asheville on foot. Shout out to one of our favorite restaurants in Asheville - Curate - each trip to AsheVegas always includes a trip to this amazing restaurant!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    339
    158
    45
    20
See reviews for
135
325
35
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Renaissance is so conveniently located to downtown, it will make you overlook its small, but nicely renovated rooms....staff was extremely courteous and helpful, the place is clean, parking is more than ample, and the best part is you walk out the side of the hotel and up a slight incline to a street that takes you three or so blocks to Broadway, one of the main drags running through the city....it is deceptively close to everything if you get a map and figure out where you want to go and the shortest way to get there....nice little bar and a great outdoor area off the conference rooms...we took a bottle of wine down to an outdoor table for our self-made happy hour and loved the ambience...ask for a corner room (I think they may be a little more spacious)...The concierge lounge is only open until 9 a.m. according to posted schedules, but we got coffee and juice to go from there as late as 9:30 without a problem...Vincenzo's italian restaurant is less than two blocks away and worth a try if you like Italian...live music (piano player) creates a nice ambience for good food. The little community theater is only a block away--we saw Steel Magnolias while we were there and it was very well done with excellent local talent.

Room Tip: ask for a corner. I think they may be a little bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RALEIGH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for a conference. My husband went to the conference and I explored the hotel and city. When we pulled up, we were immediately greeted and James helped us bring the baggage up to our room. They very politely insist on bringing up your luggage. James was very helpful in recommending places to visit and eat. Our room had a king size bed, reclining style chair with an ottoman, desk, and dresser with a plasma tv on it. No refrigerator! There was a coffee maker with decaf and regular coffees and two tea bags. The bed, wow, the linens were pretty awesome. Soft, but still felt crisp..if that makes any kind of sense. I'd pay $200 for the comforter on that bed, easy-and I am a notorious cheapskate! Four large square pillows and three squishy down type. The hotel restaurant was okay. They have a ton of gluten free items, which I don't need, the humus comes with gluten free crackers and they were awful. The humus was delicious. My husbands Reuben was yummy too! We had the breakfast buffet for $14 each, it was good. Custom made omelets and the usual assortment of breakfast items. It wasn't worth $28 for two of us though, I'd rather have gone to Denny's or Ihop for that price. The pool is indoor and heated, separate locker rooms and very soft, thick towels for afterwards. The spa was out of order:( The gym was typical, except they give you a cute set of free earbuds to plug into the TVs on their treadmills! I enjoyed them:) I was able to comfortably walk to parts of downtown very comfortably, without a fear of getting lost. It took me about seven minutes to walk to the Chocolate Fetish and reward myself for the days activities:) All in all, I'd stay here again, but would probably get breakfast at one of the local restaurants. Every staff member I encountered was smiling, friendly, and very helpful!

Room Tip: Since you are in the mountains, the higher the better for a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel, I will be sure to pass on your kind words regarding James. I am glad to hear how much you enjoyed the furnishings on your bed, the comforter you mentioned is available on the collectrenaissance website. Additionally if you would contact us directly I would like to find which room you were in, all of our rooms here should have a refrigerator located under the television and I would like to find out if one is missing, or if we need to be better about informing guests about all the amenities included in the room.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

OK, those are two of my most important check list items for a hotel! This property has recently undergone a renovation. The hotel is owned by a California company and definitely has a Cali flair (not what you usually see in NC). The lobby is spacious. There are a couple seating areas. One is decorated with @ signs and a strange green chair with a hood. The other side of the lobby has rounded pillow seats on the floor like you'd see in a teenage girl's room. (I needed help getting up!) My room was on the 8th floor. I had a great night's sleep. The bed and linens were very comfortable. The carpet was clean! No second sink or mirror outside the bathroom. Nice flat screen tv & a fridge inside a cabinet. We had a beautiful view of the city & mountains beyond. The hotel is within walking distance of downtown. The restaurant in the hotel had a great lunch menu. Try the turkey pot pie. It comes with a salad.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel. We love that you appreciated much of the decor of our lobby. The green chair with the hood you mentioned is actually one of our hot spots that we have had many of our local celebrities photographed in. We hope that we see you again soon for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for three nights and were very satisfied. If you want to visit downtown Asheville, this is the place. Excellent parking. The rooms have been renovated and are modern and very clean. The staff was very accomodating. The restaurant is excellent for all meals, especially dinner. Breakfast has everything you can think of. The hotel is not as upscale as others, but more appealing to business clients and familes. Nonetheless, it's very nice.

Room Tip: Choose one that overlooks downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere,Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Try to get reservations here for the location and very comfortable hotel with excellent service. You can walk around downtown.Plenty of free parking in a well shaded lot right in front of the hotel.Rooms are comfortable with large windows,many with mountain views. The lobby has a modern,clean decor with nooks to sit and read or check your computer ,people watch or have a drink.Free Wi-Fi. Breakfast in a sunlit area right off the lobby.Staff was very friendly and accommodated all requests, even "just toast",which was not listed on the menu. You are greeted every time you enter and leave the hotel. Author Thomas Wolfe's House is right across from the parking area. Reasonable prices in July, probably higher during leaf season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We were heading through Asheville on a road trip home from Tampa to Tulsa. We wanted to stay for a night or two and I found a great deal through Priceline so we decided to stay. From the minute we got there, we had great service from everyone we met.

Zeb at the front desk was outstanding. He asked about what we like to do, and types of food we liked and mapped out several recommendations around town for us. He also found out that we recently got engaged and asked if we liked wine, champagne; I told him we weren't big drinkers, we love to try a few beers here or there especially because Asheville is known for the many breweries. He was kind enough to have a complimentary 6pack of local beers delivered to our room which we didn't expect.

Hotel room itself was very clean and updated. The bed was comfortable. Free wi fi
Fridge for leftovers if needed

Location was great. From the back parking lot, everything in downtown Asheville is in walking distance

Few minor cons:
1) parking: Front lot was always full so had to park in the back which isn't a huge issue
2) conferences: there was a contractor conference going on so sometimes the elevator wait was long

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Address: 31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#27 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Asheville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.