We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, convenient, and affordable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Asheville Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very nice, convenient, and affordable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for three nights and were very satisfied. If you want to visit downtown Asheville, this is the place. Excellent parking. The rooms have been renovated and are modern and very clean. The staff was very accomodating. The restaurant is excellent for all meals, especially dinner. Breakfast has everything you can think of. The hotel is not as upscale as others, but more appealing to business clients and familes. Nonetheless, it's very nice.

Room Tip: Choose one that overlooks downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    339
    158
    45
    20
See reviews for
135
325
35
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windermere,Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Try to get reservations here for the location and very comfortable hotel with excellent service. You can walk around downtown.Plenty of free parking in a well shaded lot right in front of the hotel.Rooms are comfortable with large windows,many with mountain views. The lobby has a modern,clean decor with nooks to sit and read or check your computer ,people watch or have a drink.Free Wi-Fi. Breakfast in a sunlit area right off the lobby.Staff was very friendly and accommodated all requests, even "just toast",which was not listed on the menu. You are greeted every time you enter and leave the hotel. Author Thomas Wolfe's House is right across from the parking area. Reasonable prices in July, probably higher during leaf season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We were heading through Asheville on a road trip home from Tampa to Tulsa. We wanted to stay for a night or two and I found a great deal through Priceline so we decided to stay. From the minute we got there, we had great service from everyone we met.

Zeb at the front desk was outstanding. He asked about what we like to do, and types of food we liked and mapped out several recommendations around town for us. He also found out that we recently got engaged and asked if we liked wine, champagne; I told him we weren't big drinkers, we love to try a few beers here or there especially because Asheville is known for the many breweries. He was kind enough to have a complimentary 6pack of local beers delivered to our room which we didn't expect.

Hotel room itself was very clean and updated. The bed was comfortable. Free wi fi
Fridge for leftovers if needed

Location was great. From the back parking lot, everything in downtown Asheville is in walking distance

Few minor cons:
1) parking: Front lot was always full so had to park in the back which isn't a huge issue
2) conferences: there was a contractor conference going on so sometimes the elevator wait was long

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHRoberts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel. It's very clean, and has clearly had an interior refresh recently. The bed was very comfortable, a/c was cold and not overly loud, and the décor was tasteful. Everything you'd expect from a hotel in this class. The exterior is a little dated, but not a big deal. They're in the process of having it painted, which will probably be an improvement. We walked by the pool and fitness areas, and they looked really nice - I wish we had made the time to use them. My only suggestion is to do a little better job of marking the entrance. I drove by it a couple of times before I figured out where to turn in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a solid 4 star hotel. Everything was clean and the service good. You can walk to the restaurants downtown. I would stay again. Self parking was a plus. Marriott points were a plus as well. When we stayed, it was the best 4 star deal in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have stayed here twice. The first time, their website "forgot" to mention they were in the midst of a major renovation. This time I checked their website & it had the banner listed above, so I selected it. Imagine my surprise when I check in & they have a warning about the renovation still going on. I felt deceived. I won't be staying here again despite the great location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had looked at the Aloft as it was in a better location with an outdoor pool but prices were astronomic and it turned out the indoor pool @ the Renaissance was great. It was clear there had been a recent refurbishment, lobby was modern, and even though my view wasn't great, room was definitely contemporary, clean and comfortable. Bit of a walk to Starbucks by was through a pleasant neighborhood. Bought tickets for trolley tour from the store. Generally a helpful hotel too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Address: 31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#27 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Asheville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.