We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good...just know what to expect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Asheville Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #28 of 59 hotels in Asheville
tiggermyron
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mostly good...just know what to expect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Not the best we've stayed in but a solid choice if you're looking for downtown Asheville. This is an older hotel with a good rehab. Beautiful lobby, nicely decorated rooms, etc. Our accessible bathroom was minuscule by my standard and poorly configured. I would caution a person requiring a roll-in bath though the rest of the room was fine. Also because it's an older building I noticed some yucky mold and paint peeling in a small area in the window behind the curtain....ick! Stuff like that just shouldn't be. Parking is busy and somewhat challenging. We were visiting family nearby and being here in a "city" setting was very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    276
    127
    39
    17
See reviews for
105
277
32
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The front desk guy was a good guy, great to talk to, loved his job, although he made you feel like he was hooking you up for things that weren't really hook-ups in the end. We had a corner room, 805, and seemed split into 2 rooms and was actually the smallest hotel room I've had since London. It was rather comical at some points getting ready for the night. That said, the decor was really nice, and it was clean. The beds were firm and good, and our view was awesome, as I think any view in Asheville was awesome. The bathroom was very, very, very small but the water pressure was great. It was about 3 - 7 blocks walk to most of the restaurants we went to, and 7 minutes to the Biltmore. There seems to be 3 areas of Asheville to stay in; 1. the Biltmore area which is the best and most quaint area. 2. The city, which has the most to eat and shop and drink. 3. The outlying parts which are mostly malls / suburbs type areas. I liked the Biltmore area the best, but for the city, this hotel was a good price, good value and really nice.

Room Tip: HIGH Rooms, Good views, no traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am happy to hear about the great service you had but sorry to hear you felt he may have misrepresented the room but that room is one of our corner queens which is a noticeably larger room than our standard rooms. The bathroom size is a common subject we hear through feedback so we appreciate you mentioning it for our tracking.

I am glad you enjoyed the rest of Asheville so much during your stay and I hope you return here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The staff we had contact with were all very nice and helpful. The location is great, the lobby is spectacular, so is the pool and workout room, but I was very disappointed with our room. It was small and had a popcorn ceiling. Not what I expected for what we paid. We requested a high floor for a mountain view. We were on the 10th, but the view was of the condos next door. The bathroom was tiny and dirty. I just wish the sleekness of the lobby had been carried throughout the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of our property. Unfortunately our standard rooms do have a small amount of variance in the size and the view of the mountains with a high room is always a highly sought after room type. We hope you decide to visit with us in the future, and please take the opportunity to consider a View of the Land and Sky room. These rooms are all on high floors with guaranteed views of the mountains. We do try to successfully fill all other requests for similar rooms but unfortunately it seems we missed the mark with you. I apologize for our rooms not being up to your expectations but do hope that you will come back and see us again.

Sincerely,
Kevin Allustiarti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We are Platinum Elite Marriott members and had a reservation at the Grand Bohemian for over a month. We arrived on our date to be told they did not have 2 double bed's only 1 King, we were a family of 3 and needed a bed for our daughter. (We had reserved 2 bouble beds) We asked if there was anything they could do for us as an Platinum member, give upgrade? Well they said NO, that is all they have. She suggested going to the Renaissance down the street, so we went there. The Front Desk was just great, for a last minute reservation. We spoke with Alex and Susan Johnton, they both worked to get us the best room within minutes they truly made our stay very memorable. Went out of there way to accommodate us, great room, service, pool. We will definitely want to go back there instead of the Grand Bohemian, we felt it had more to offer. Thank you Alex & Susan

Room Tip: 11 floor, suite was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel had an impressive lobby to walk into...staff was very nice and helpful upon arrival our first evening. Easy walking distance to downtown restaurants and shops. Room was clean. Had 2 double beds, no suite, so room was not large but expected size for downtown area hotel. Bathroom felt tight. Had requested room on higher floor and was rewarded with a skyline view of the mountains. Travelled with children~they LOVED the large, real-sized (not mini) indoor pool. Workout room was awesome with many pieces of equipment.

Room Tip: Request higher floor with view, suite is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

You know what they say: location, location, location! This hotel makes walking around downtown Asheville a breeze, as it is close to everything. The front desk clerk was extremely efficient and welcoming, so our visit began well. We were given a fifth floor corner room, and we were delighted with the larger size. There was also a comfortable corner chair and ottoman with good lighting. The beds were comfortable as well. The furniture in the lobby is literally indescribable - like nothing I'd ever seen. Ultra modern? Tres chic? Not sure, but it was fun to look at. Overall, no complaints here - we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Nothing too special, but nice hotel and nice location. Walking distance to downtown. Bathrooms were kind of small, so if traveling with a family, you might consider someting else. YMCA is right across the parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance
Address: 31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Asheville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.