We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Asheville Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #28 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Moore, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The experience was great. Clean and inviting rooms. Service was good, not exceptional but they did their jobs. Location was great. Downtown and within walking distance to several restaurants. The only complaint would be of the AC/Heat being loud and the building itself was "older" and remodeled. These things however were expected from reading previous reviews though. All in all, we would recommend this hotel and will probably be back at some point or another.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your kindness and understanding regarding the troubles you experienced during your stay. Based on what you mentioned we clearly were not up to our own standards in making your stay with us exceptional. We do not strive to "do our jobs" but to make each guest's experience special and unique.

Thank you for your future recommendations and we hope to impress you in the future should you return to Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    275
    127
    39
    17
See reviews for
105
275
31
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Myersville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The location of this newly renovated hotel is perfect. You're on the edge of town but in walking distance to the center of town. The views from our room were beautiful. We were on the 8th Flr. It was quiet, which was a welcome after strolling the hilly town.I don't think there is a poor view. The staff was helpful and housekeeping was efficient. Our room was 2 queen with a floor to ceiling window. Bathrm small but nice and clean.
My only complaint was that the in house restaurant was below par. With the focus on local farmers provisions in most all the restaurants, one would think they would embrace the same. We didn't even like the bread, which was complimentary. I did inquire, from our server about the chef, who she bragged about had been there for a yr. or two. We didn't complain we just basically left our meals and paid for the disappointment. Other than that, I totally recommend the hotel. There are numerous restaurants to check out.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I thought very highly of this hotel. My room was lovely with a super view.
This front desk service (particularly Seth) was excellent. Many thanks for making
me feel so welcome. The hotels has a lovely atmosphere and a great location.
I have mixed feelings about the center of Asheville but the area around the hotel is the best in my opinion -- there is a lovely plaza in front of the Buncombe County courthouse and City Hall. All right so the parking is not the greatest but this is an older hotel.
Thanks Renaissance for a lovely stay !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Renaissance brand is usually interesting. Each hotel has a unique style, often reflecting the area in which it is located. This one, however, is not unique.

The lobby is nice and parking is free. The King room I was was average. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was quite small. There was a fridge. The decor was basic.

The concierge lounge was ok. The attendant was very professional and clearly cared about what he was doing. The food was average.

This is an average hotel. It needs a unique character.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance after our plans at the Grand Bohemian didn't work out so well. You can see my review there. I would like to thank Seth at the front desk for saving our vacation. We relayed to him what had been a very bad experience the night before. He couldn't have been more sympathetic and accommodating. He sent up a beautiful fruit tray and some sparkling waters. Our room was clean with a beautiful floor to ceiling glass window and view of the mountains. I hope his management takes notice of the wonderful employee they have in Seth. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, the views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My co-workers told me this is THE place to stay. Next time I'll stay somewhere else. The first things you notice about the Renaissance are the two very large parking lots which are almost completely full. It seems the location near downtown is the perfect place to stash your car while you take advantage of dining and shopping. Apparently, the entire city of Asheville knows this as well, so forget about finding a close spot. Also, this is a large, busy hotel. There is a mini-convention atmosphere. If that appeals to you, fine, but be prepared at rush hour to wait to check in and to get on an elevator. My room was small and a bit dated. The carpet was coming up and there were visible stains on the duvet cover. The grout in the shower needed to be replaced. The ironing board was broken. There is a Courtyard Marriott just on the other side of the tunnel and I stayed there also on this trip. It was a far more pleasant experience and cheaper. In fact, I'll stay at the Courtyard and park at the Renaissance for my nighttime entertainment. Because that's what everyone else does.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here for two quick anniversary and birthday trips. It's close enough to walk everywhere downtown and only a quick cab ride to Biltmore or the Grove Park Inn. The service is impeccable! I highly recommend the chocolate covered strawberries!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance
Address: 31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Asheville
#30 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Asheville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.