We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Asheville Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #28 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel appears to be outdated and over-priced at first glance, however, I was able to book for a decent price ($161 a night for a December weekend) so I took the chance. 3 of my closest girlfriends and I met up in Asheville for a weekend girls trip, so the four of us shared a room with two queen beds for two nights. The interior of the hotel is beautiful, very clean, modern and bright- not what you expect from the outside.

The room was clean (though it had the atrocious carpet that I expect in any hotel), the beds comfortable and space adequate. We had a corner room on a high floor, which was slightly larger than a regular room. The mini-fridge came in useful and the air conditioner worked great. The bathroom was very small, but functional and clean. The service was ok- as in all of Asheville, everyone was very friendly. The hotel was sold out due to a few weddings, so it did take longer for bell service and room service. I was disappointed in a room service order I placed prior to the trip- we were celebrating a pregnancy so I ordered a bottle of sweet champagne, a glass of orange juice and chocolate covered strawberries. The order arrived over 30 minutes late and though I requested 4 glasses, we only recieved 2. This was a bit of a blow to my surprise because it took almost 15 minutes to get the other 2 glasses. The champagne was awful- I would have been better bringing my own. The strawberries were wonderful. They also charged me more than what was listed on the website, and I think the $10 difference was a bit steep for a glass of orange juice. I had also requested extra towels and we had to call twice to get them.

The hotel is in a great location- within walking distance of downtown and it is a safe neighborhood, well-lit with lots of people around. We consulted the conceierge for dinner recommendations and he was very helpful. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive to Biltmore.

I would stay here again, but I would not pay their average price ($209 per night). I am a Marriott Rewards member and am still waiting for my final bill to be emailed to me- as of right now, more has been charged to my card than expected so I would like to see the final bill.

Room Tip: Request a corner room on a high floor, but be prepared to wait awhile for elevators if they are busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    302
    135
    40
    18
See reviews for
117
290
32
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Renaissance in Asheville doesn't look like much from the outside. Yeah, it's big, but the exterior looks dated. Inside, you notice the elegance that comes with being inside a FS hotel. My stay was on the concierge floor. I didn't have any problems with the room size, certainly plenty for one. Same can be said about the bathroom..if it's just one person, it's plenty. I can see how it could be tight quarters with another person.

Service throughout was excellent. Everyone was friendly, answered my questions, helped me get around. Breakfast within club lounge was limited, I had better selections at other Marriott FS properties. Nevertheless, I've stayed at a few hotels here in Asheville (that's not saying much..maybe 5?), but the Renaissance was the best of the bunch so far.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sedona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My first stay at the Renaissance was disappointing due to the location of my room. For my next stay Terri, the Front Desk Manager, booked me in a corner room (high floor); we were in town attending Bel Chere, Asheville’s annual music festival. My boyfriend and I enjoyed our stay so much we are back AGAIN now, for 8 nights.

First, the corner rooms are more spacious and very quiet. Even when we were in town for Bel Chere, there was relatively no noise.

This visit we are on the road for a total of 12 days. We both packed a LOT! There are plenty of drawers and ample closet space to accommodate us both. The closets are spacious enough to house our two large suit-cases while also leaving room for multiple pairs of shoes on the floor. Although the bathroom is relatively small, the counter is very spacious and there is a nice "ledge" underneath to also store toiletries.

The location is exceptional. During Bel Chere we never moved our car! The Renaissance is within walking distance of the downtown area and all the great dining establishments! There is also a Starbucks located down the street (opposite direction of downtown), which is always a plus for me! You are also a short drive from the Grove Park Inn and Biltmore Estate.

The staff is accommodating and friendly. And I appreciate the free Wi-Fi, parking and the refrigerator in the room. If you are traveling on business (my boyfriend and I always have our lap-tops available and plugged in), the desk is large enough for two people with a number of outlets to accommodate all our technology!

I call this my Asheville home because my boyfriend and I are looking to possibly relocate to Asheville. And as we continue to come back to learn more about the area and check into the housing market, the Renaissance Hotel IS home for us, and most important. . . .feels like home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Renaissance hotel
Asheville

The room was clean, but small. The bathroom was also small. Each room has a "cooler". It looks like a mini fridge but it does not keep things really cold ( still nice to have).
The AC in the room was SO loud. Apparently this is not the case in every room. My friend said her AC made a small clicking noise, and it was not the roaring sound mine made.
I had a room with a king size bed. I was traveling with a 8 month old and with the pack and play the space was a little tight. My friend was traveling with an 8 month old and a three year old. She stayed in a room with two queen sized bed. She had a ton of room!
I love the location of this hotel. It was nice to go out for meals without hanging load all of the children in the car. Downtown Asheville is right outside of the hotel's back door.
Breakfast in the Hotel restaurant was nice. Most things in the menu were pricey, but the Buffet was worth the price ($14). It included drinks ( coffee, juice, milk). They had a made to order waffle and egg bar. The food was great and the wait staff were nice. Breakfast in this restaurant was also baby friendly!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Renaissance is our default hotel when we visit Asheville. It’s the perfect location to easily walk in downtown Asheville, and is convenient to the galleries, restaurants, and shops that abound in downtown. As others have noted, the outside of the hotel is very dismal looking, but the inside is very nice. The lobby was recently renovated, and the rooms have a contemporary look and feel, although the carpets are beginning to look old. In a standard size room, the bathrooms are quite small. The pool is long enough for laps, and the workout facility has a lot of cardio equipment. Overall, based on the location and value, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms by the ice machine tend to be more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The outside of the hotel could stand some updating but don't let that fool you - inside this a beautiful hotel. It was only a 15 minute ride to the airport. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze. I was there on business and will definitely stay there again the next time I'm in Asheville. The room was clean, had such a comfortable bed and all the amenities you could need. In fact, I forgot something so I called the front desk and they were happy to oblige for no extra charge. It is a close walk to great restaurants and shops. The restaurant itself has healthy and very good food. If I had to find a negative about the hotel it would be that the bathrooms are a bit small. But other than that, nothing but great things to say about this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is easy to find and is in a great location. The exterior is a bit deceptive. The interior is nicer that the exterior would lead you to believe. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The beds were a bit on the firm side and the bathrooms were a little cramped but overall the Renaissance Marriott is a decent property for a short weekend getaway. Would I stay here again...not sure, maybe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Address: 31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Asheville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.