We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be great when the renovation is finished” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Asheville Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Will be great when the renovation is finished”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I was there this week, and the lobby was a construction zone. On one day, the restaurant was closed--or at least I was told it was. However, the room I was in was nicely renovated, and the lobby should be done soon--in the next few days. I think folks will like the look, feel, and location of this property when visiting Asheville.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    364
    177
    51
    23
See reviews for
145
367
38
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Frequent Marriott traveler and booked hotel via the Marriott site. Small note on the site stated that the food & beverage area was under renovation and service would be located elsewhere. This translates into the entire lobby being ripped up and tile saws going all through out the day.

Staff was very friendly and helpful throughout the stay. Rooms were clean and neat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Hotel was "under construction". Felt like Bagdad. Very helpful doorman and extremely convenient location for taking a walk around the city. Room is adequate and clean enough that I was not alarmed but same old problem that no-one ever cleans behind the bathroom door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Traveling west, we decided to stay in Ashville, and never before visited place. It might be one of the best hidden gems in the US! The city was amazing and this hotel, although under construction at the time, was right up to par! The staff were incredible, and the view from our 12th floor room was amazing. The ergonomics of the room were not good. Doors bumped into doors and getting in and out was not easy, but the beds, service, and indoor Olympic sized salt water pool made up for it! When back in Ashville, we will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We came down on Christmas afternoon, once all our grown babies moved on to new activities, for a few days of quiet just US time. From the moment you check in until you have to leave, the stay is wonderful! The front desk staff is very professional. All employees, from housekeepers and housing to bellboys or management, treat each guest with warm, friendly service. We enjoyed the large indoor, heated pool. Workout room has several types of equipment that were a hit with us. Location is great; downtown where many fun restaurants, shops and art studios. Room was clean, our King bed was oh so comfortable and there was plenty of space. If you need something just ask any staff member, if you are lucky it will be Zeb. He is a wonderful asset to the Renaissance. (Please note that during our Christmas time visit the hotel had just begun a renovation of the front lobby, bar and restaurant. everything was kept clean and contained. Never heard any noise that carried up to our room.) Can't wait to return and see the "new" design.

Room Tip: for a beautiful night sky view - ask for a room on one the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I booked two rooms for a December visit to Biltmore Estate and was surprised at the low rate. When I arrived I saw the lobby was under renovation, which was not disclosed at the time of the reservation. The front desk attendants seemed to have some problems locating the rooms, so check it took longer than expected. That surprised me since the reservation was made well before the visit. The rooms themselves were in very good condition. The breakfast was also very good, and the view from the top floor was nice. This probably would have been rated a 4 if the renovations had been disclosed up front.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

My wife and I recently booked a block of rooms at the Renaissance in Asheville for wedding attendees. Our first contact was several months ago when we were deciding on a hotel. The hotel desk was happy to let us look at two rooms, escorted by a very helpful bellman. We were offered a very favorable contract on the rooms. Guests reported that they were well-treated on arrival by everyone they came in contact with. The hotel restaurant went out of their way to set up a really nice spot for the newlyweds and about 30 family members to have breakfast together. I would look forward to going back to the Renaissance in Asheville for almost any reason!

Room Tip: The hotel has "mountain view" and "city view" sides. Asheville is a cool city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Address: 31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
#26 Family Hotel in Asheville
#27 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Asheville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.