We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore to your Saves list
Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is close to Biltmore, Biltmore Village, and Mission Hospital. It's also not a bad drive to downtown from here.

The hotel rooms were nice, clean, and quiet. The hotel staff was generally helpful, although one of the staff seemed a little on the uppity side (not bad, just not as friendly as the others).

One hint for this hotel: they give a generous break to family members who stay here while they have someone in the hospital. It's less than 1/2 mile from the hospital, and is not a bad walk to there.

Most of our favorite restaurants are downtown, so you do have to drive to all of those restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear pinu2 -

Thank you for enjoying your stay at our Residence Inn Asheville in NC. It was great to see that you found our central location to be the most convenient hotel to Biltmore Village, Biltmore Estate and downtown Asheville.

Our staff prides itself on being congenial, as well as maintaining a clean, comfortable product.
We look forward to your return to Asheville, and hope you will continue to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Herb R Arnold
Director of Sales
Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    78
    35
    18
    8
See reviews for
76
87
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is located very close to the Biltmore and HWY 40. If you're in town to do business downtown it is a bit far especially during key times of day.
The staff was friendly and accommodating, and they definitely rate highly on both the breakfast and evening food offerings. Both were very nice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Methetraveler1961 -

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Residence Inn Asheville in NC. Thank you for your compliments on our hot breakfast buffet, evning food and our friendly staff, since these are just two of the many items that we take great pride in at our hotel.

We look forward to your return to Asheville, and hope you will continue to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Herb R Arnold
Director of Sales
Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Front desk...depends on who you talk to whether they are friendly or unpleasant, but in neither case very helpful. Air conditioning old and REALLY loud, blows cold air all right, right onto the bed. The nights were a series of kicking off the blankets, then waking up to a noisy blast of cold air on the body. The coffee maker was a piece of junk. The water noisily boiled away sending steam through the vents, and only half the water into the carafe for VERY strong thick coffee. The TV screen was far too small for the distance between TV and sofa. The TV sits on a useless empty box where in most hotels you would have drawers! There are two small drawers in a piece of furniture near the sofa, that's all. The wastebasket is too big to fit under the sink, so your trash/garbage must sit out on the floor in the kitchenette area. After spending just under $600 for two nights in a standard room, we could not even get a 2PM checkout. IHG hotels give us a guaranteed last checkout and no blackout dates for points. At check in we asked about extending for third night, and the room was available, but not for points or Rewards Night...another $300 only (Standard Room!). Fortunately we did not take it considering how disappointing the hotel was. There is only one elevator in this 4 story hotel, and the stairs don't take you to the lobby. Sometimes traffic backs up. Why 2 dots (instead of 1)? Because it has a great location for going to Biltmore, because the housekeeping person left the extra towels we requested and did good work (yes, we leave generous tips). The room was poorly designed (wrt to AC, drawer space, television viewing, trash basket, coffee maker) but it was clean.

Room Tip: Only one elevator, ask if it is working before taking an upper floor. Another elderly reviewer had s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear WXinDC -

We are sorry to hear that your stay was less than excellent. Our property was renovated about a year and half ago and we receive compliments frequently about how pleasing the styling of furniture is, and that all rooms are suites. We apologize that on the busy July 4th holiday weekend we were unable to accommodate a 2pm check out since we were quite busy and must get our rooms ready by 3pm for our reservations to check in. With the popularity of our hotel and the Asheville area, free night stays utilizing Marriott Rewards points must be booked in advance since there is a limit to how many of these the hotel can accommodate on a given night.

We would love to have you stay with us again so that you have an opportunity to truly enjoy our hotel. You may want to request a One-Bedroom King Suite during your next visit that may have a more pleasing set-up then the Studio Suite that you previously occupied. We appreciate your feedback and have passed them along to our management staff who are addressing your comments.

Sincerely,

Herb R.Arnold
Director of Sales
Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Residence Inn has become our go-to place to stay when we're traveling. This one was just a couple of blocks away from the Biltmore Estate which was our destination. We really enjoyed the hot breakfast each morning. The front-desk personnel were all friendly & helpful. Thanks for helping us make our trip so pleasant!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
TravelerJLA -

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Residence Inn Asheville in NC. Thank you for your compliments on our hot breakfast buffet and our friendly staff, since these are just two of the many items that we take great pride in at our hotel.

We look forward to your return to Asheville, and hope you will continue to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Herb R Arnold
Director of Sales
Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I always love the Residence Inn. Having an option for 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms plus a living area and kitchen can't be beat. The staff was exceptional, as I have found in all of the Marriotts so far. They have a great hot breakfast in the morning and were very flexible with us both on the check-in and check-out time. I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello CalChrome,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback of the Residence Inn Biltmore! We are pleased about your positive experiences with our staff, and that you enjoyed starting your day with our delicious hot breakfast. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while in Asheville and look forward to having you back!

Sincerely,

Lauren McDevitt
Marketing and Guest Relations
Residence Inn Biltmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This Residence Inn is so easy for you to see the downtown area and take advantage of many great restaurants and shops. We found that the clientele were friendly and everyone that is an employee was eager to serve you. I cannot say enough for the helpful staff We enjoy staying at this hotel several times a year.

Room Tip: We loved staying on the 11th floor. The view from the front window was spectacular. We love Ashevill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Linda S,

Thank you for sharing your review of the Residence Inn Biltmore. Its great that you enjoyed our location in Historic Biltmore Village, near downtown Asheville, the Biltmore Estate, and a variety of great shopping and restaurants! We thank you for your feedback as well about your positive experiences with our great team members and we will be sure to share your kind words. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to having you back!

Sincerely,

Lauren McDevitt
Marketing and Guest Relations
Residence Inn Biltmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This week I went with friends to Asheville for a few days of shopping and eating. We've visited Asheville each year for several years, but have never stayed at this Residence Inn. We will be sure to stay on our future visits!
Our room was clean, quiet and well equipped. There was a full sized fridge, a range, dishwasher and microwave had we felt like preparing our meals. There was no need to do that, though. The breakfast menu had eggs, bacon, sausage, ham, breads, muffins, Belgian waffles, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt and fruit. On three nights dinner was provided as well.
Our AC went out but it was promptly repaired.
The location is perfect. It's near the Biltmore House and Biltmore Village. You can get to downtown Asheville in minutes. Interstates I-26 and I-40 are nearby for day trips to Hendersonville, Black Mountain or Waynesville.
We look forward to staying here on our next trip to the Asheville area!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello ginnyreader,

WOW - we are excited to hear about your recent experience at the Residence Inn Biltmore! Its great that you enjoyed our location in Historic Biltmore Village, and that our newly renovated suites were to your liking. Thank you also for starting your day with with our delicious breakfast and enjoyed our dinner receptions. We are pleased that your AC issue was addressed as well in a timely manner. Thanks again for your business and we look forward to hosting you again during future travels to Asheville!

Sincerely,

Lauren McDevitt
Marketing and Guest Relations
Residence Inn Biltmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore

Address: 701 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28803
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#27 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore Hotel Asheville
Asheville Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.