We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Trip Better Than The First” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Downtown Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downtown Inn & Suites
120 Patton Ave., Asheville, NC 28801 (Formerly Days Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“2nd Trip Better Than The First”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Downtown Inn and Suites Jan 18-21. The hotel has made some improvements and updates since we last stayed. It's a budget motel and the decor is dated, but the staff does a great job of keeping everything spotless. The front desk staff was the best I have ever encountered. Very friendly and helpful. Checkout was effortless. Beds are very comfortable. We love Asheville and will not stay anywhere else when we come to town. We can walk park the car when we arrive and never start it again until we head home unless we decide to go hiking. Well worth the money and the location adds so much value in our book.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the mountain side. A little bit more quiet than the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    160
    77
    36
    44
See reviews for
58
187
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Management/Owner really needs to learn customer service. After numerous stays. I have been banned for some unknown reason. All I can suspect is that on my last stay I was given a sub-par room and I complained, maybe I should have taken the hint. But alas, my direct address to "Dr." Patel was met with some child like passive agressive notes in their database.
I'm more than happy to take my 60+ 2013 bookable nights to a much better hotel for just a few dollars more.
STAY AWAY!!! In my opinion, sooner or later this motel will ruin your view of Asheville.

Room Tip: There are no suites. Rooms toward the street are louder. But really, just STAY AWAY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I can't add much more to the positive reviews here. I was surprised at how clean it was, despite the out-dated décor and heating unit. We ended up turning off the heat (in Asheville in December!) because it was so loud, but it worked so well we didn't miss it. We had a 5th floor, town side room, and if I stayed again, I would get a 5th floor mountain side room. They certainly seem willing to accommodate specific requests, even when the motel was completely booked!
The guy who checked us in, Greg, was easily one of the nicest desk clerks ever. Check in takes a while, but he keeps you laughing and occupied while he goes through the process. I will say that my husband, a UK citizen, didn't have photo ID (we don't carry his passport on US road trips), and this caused some consternation. But a quick phone call to 'his boss' allowed us to stay just on my driver's license. It's worth the time to pack the photo ID for everyone in the party.
I'd stay here again rather than in a motel out on Tunnel Rd., if for no other reason than the perfect location, but it was less expensive, probably just as clean too. We didn't even look at the breakfast, so can't comment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here several days around the Christmas holiday. The room (5th floor, south-facing) was acceptable. The decor some would find dated, and the heating unit did its job, but noisily, and by blowing air into our faces on the bed. The staff did a good job of keeping the room clean, and the fridge and microwave were appreciated. The complementary breakfast was okay. The hot items, such as microwaved sausage biscuits, were not too great, but the make-your-own waffles, cereal, bagels and toast, were sufficient for someone on a limited budget. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They even proactively took a bit off of our bill because our heating unit controls were not working properly upon our arrival. Parking spaces were a bit awkwardly placed and sized, but the (free) parking lot's fenced enclosure was much appreciated. As many have written, the location can't be beat for those who would like to walk around downtown Asheville. I would stay here again without hesitation for the price we paid for a night, which was less than sixty dollars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I travel frequently for work and holidays! If you need a Ritz, book one. If you are looking for a great location in downtown Asheville, close to bars, restaurants, and shopping, look no further. It is a no frills, clean hotel with comfy beds and nice staff! Rates are reasonable for what you get. The owners have improved it over the years, with added fridges, microwaves, newer furniture and mattresses. For the modest rate, they even include a hot breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is a GREAT place to stay if you are looking for a great location and great customer service all for a great price!

Alright, I will be honest, the rooms are not top of the line, or even average based on where I have stayed before, BUT the location, price and service are amazing!

We booked a last minute trip, two nights prior, and got a great rate and our dog could come, too! It was actually cheaper to bring her with us ($10 extra a night) than to board her ($20 a night) which was great for us since we hate boarding her! We only were planning a quick overnight trip to Asheville and wanted to make the most of it by getting there early. We called ahead and were able to check in two hours early.

When we checked in the hotel looked old and outdated, our room was certainly not the Ritz, but if you are traveling to see sights and just need a place to crash, which we were, it was just fine! The beds were comfortable enough. There was a refrigerator and microwave, which would have been nice had we been staying longer and had spent any time in the room beyond sleeping! In the morning there was a typical hot continental breakfast: waffles, sausage, eggs, biscuits, cereals, bagels, muffins and fruit. Check out was quick and easy and as with check in the people at the desk were very nice and helpful!

When we got home I realized I had left my nice tempurpedic pillow at the hotel. I was very worried it was gone forever, but when we called the hotel, the maid had found it, brought it to the desk and they sent it to us free of charge!

Overall, it was close to everything downtown, the service was great, and you cannot beat the price. If you are looking for a nice quiet room with a plush pillow top bed, you should not stay here. If you are looking for a place to merely crash after exploring Asheville, we would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

It's a throw back in time from the wallpaper to the furniture and the breakfast is slim.

However, that being said- it is clean, inexpensive, right in the heart of Asheville so you can easily walk to everything (food, shopping, music) and the staff is friendly and super helpful! I highly recommend it!

If your looking for luxury, this isn't your spot. If you're looking for cheap and clean with no driving, this is it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Downtown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Inn & Suites

Address: 120 Patton Ave., Asheville, NC 28801 (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Downtown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Inn And Suites
Downtown Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.