We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience, Very Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Downtown Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Downtown Inn & Suites
120 Patton Ave., Asheville, NC 28801 (Formerly Days Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice Experience, Very Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

While the Downtown Inn is an old style motel with rooms that you enter from the outside, we found our room to be very clean and met all of our needs. The continental breakfast was not spectacular, but was OK if you don't want an elaborate spread. The pool area was nice and clean, but did not have many chairs. Only 8 chairs around tables and 4 lounge chairs. Parking was easy and secure behind a fence. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Our first room had a steady drip from the ceiling onto the bed, but they moved us promptly and gave us a discount off of that nights charge. The biggest pluses for the hotel are the price and the location. We stayed 6 nights for less than 2 nights at most other downtown hotels. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go downtown and we were close to hiking and inner tubing on the French Broad River. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    174
    85
    36
    46
See reviews for
61
198
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel shows it's age, but has friendly staff and clean rooms. Being right downtown, coupled with free parking and very affordable rates makes a very convenient visit to Asheville's restaurants and beer culture. The Thirsty Monk and Green Man are in the same block, Asheville Brewing Co. and French Broad are a couple blocks away.
As Julia R already posted, try to get a room facing the mountains (the pool side). The rooms facing the street are incredibly noisy. Our first night was on the street side and was fitful, even on the third floor. Fortunately they were able to change our room to the "quiet" side for the remaining two nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We wanted to stay in downtown to check out the breweries without having to wiry about driving. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, we cautiously chose the Downtown Inn.  Happy to say we were not disappointed!

Front desk was helpful with information on area and recommendations for diner. Room was nice and clean. Air conditioning on when we arrived. Breakfast was good the next morning. 

All in all, convenient location and a great stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

If you don't the frayed edges& bad decor in the lobby and a ok breakfast, but want very clean beds good housekeeping & service, attentive check in + the perfect Down town location for bars& restaurants within 2- 3 mins walk. I recommend this hotel as it is very reasonably price for a down town hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room at rear of hotel on the upper floors for a view of mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jervis, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We spent three nights at the hotel. The room was basic, yet clean. Bed is a bit soft, and comforter and pillows are rather old. Basic continental breakfast (pastries, fresh fruit, cereal, coffee, bagels, etc) is free. We found that it is still a great value, as the hotel is within walking distance to all points of interest that we wanted to visit. Make sure to ask for a “mountain view” room – it is much quieter than street-facing rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain-view room, it is quieter than street-facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Ok it isn't top of the line. It is a clean place to sleep that has an awesome location for a great price. It is right next to all the shopping and great places to eat: maybe a 10 minute walk to bouchon, 10 minute drive to Biltmore, and right across the street from jack of the woods. Not to mention a 3 to 5 minute walk to great places like Early Girl Eatery, World of Coffee, and Woolworth. The Grove arcade is literally two streets over. The bed is kind of springy and if you are street side there are sometimes sirens, loud cars, and loud people. The staff is friendly and the maids clean very well (still wouldn't trust the comforter though). My fiance and I are young and just cared about the location and a clean place to stay. So if you are a fellow foodie who isn't too picky about luxury this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Downtown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Inn & Suites

Address: 120 Patton Ave., Asheville, NC 28801 (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Downtown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Inn And Suites
Downtown Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.