We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Asheville Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Asheville Mall to your Saves list
Days Inn Asheville Mall
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Tunnel Road, I-40 & Highway 240, Asheville, NC 28805   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Terrific Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

My parents come visit us about 4 times a year and they always stay here.

This is a great hotel if you need a clean, pleasant place to sleep and not a lot of frills. The grounds are very well-maintained, the rooms are clean, there is a nice pool, and weekend breakfast is awesome (and included!). Staff is very professional and helpful. Lobby is impeccably clean and comfortable. And the price is right.

The location is convenient, but not scenic. Lots of chain restaurants and a mall within a 1/2 mile. Very close to I-240.

One note - the rooms farthest in the back are the quietest, but the weak wi-fi doesn't reach that far. If you need wi-fi I would ask for a room closer to the lobby, but you might get a little more (to be expected) noise from passers-by and/or the pool. Still, my parents have stayed here probably 8 times and never complained about hearing anything.

It is a Days Inn, which means if offers basic amenities. Furnishings are sort of dated, beds are not amazing, linens are standard-issue. If you want a luxury experience, pay twice as much and stay somewhere else. If you want a hotel you know will be safe, quiet, clean and pleasant, stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    204
    153
    97
    64
See reviews for
194
202
47
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

It had hot water. It was clean. The bed & pillows were kind of hard. Recommend if you need something decent but basic.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

For a 2 star hotel I think the price, location, and free hot breakfast is worth it. Days Inn is pet friendly regardless of size which means we can bring our 130 lb dog. We stayed for 3 days during Memorial Day to stroll around downtown Asheville & see the Biltmore Estates. Getting to all the attractions was a breeze and shopping/dining near the hotel was just a short walk in every direction. The pool was clean and they offered a large variety of food at their hot breakfast buffet. Fresh waffles, fruit , bacon, sausage, eggs, biscuits & gravy, cereal, and pastries to name a few.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

I don't want to write bad reviews, but be adviced that the rooms were very outdated. There were many persons yelling outside the rooms, drinking beers, and with a bad aspect. During the half hour we stayed I heard several complaints about the persons yelling, and broken things in the rooms. We decided to change and stayed at the Best Western 2 miles from there. We have to concede the personnel was nice , but the hotel was not.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

The location is very convenient, just a block from the Mall and right in the middle of several restaurants. Its a short drive to the entrance of the Biltmore Estate, and they sell tickets at the front desk.

The rooms are clean, and typical of an older motel. The beds were comfortable, and the HVAC units worked fine. There were plenty of towels, but they were kinda thin and scratchy. Typical of that pricerange, really.

The free hot breakfast was great! Very convenient, and still fully stocked at 9am, which is rare for a free breakfast. Eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits, gravy, fruits, cereal, and pastries. Plenty of seating, and good service in the dining room.

The only complaint I have is the showers were very small and the water pressure very variable. The bathtubs were extremely narrow, so the distance from shower curtain to wall was about 2 feet. The ceiling was extremely low in the bathroom, kind of a total claustrophobic experience in there.

The pool was not open yet, that was a disappointment. Our room was overlooking the pool, and would have been a much better view and place to hang out and drink morning coffee if it had just been uncovered.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

We found a very good Internet deal and were pleased with this hotel, only about five minutes to downtown Asheville. The room was clean, and the lobby was great. The breakfast buffet (included in the room price) was almost lavish, and there was a computer for guest use in the lobby. That was good, because Internet service our room, located near the end of a long wing, was spotty and then failed completely. The desk acknowledged that wi-fi in that part of the building didn't work properly. If you book and need wi-fi, make sure that you're near the office.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

When we arrived, the staff was nice, but the room was really bad. There were stains on the carpet, peeling paint everywhere, peeling wallpaper, and rust in the bathroom. There was also broken tiles in the tub. We ended up getting a refund and staying at the Crowne Plaza .

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Asheville Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Asheville Mall

Address: 201 Tunnel Road, I-40 & Highway 240, Asheville, NC 28805
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Asheville Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Asheville Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Asheville Mall Hotel Asheville
Asheville Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Asheville Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.