We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gourmet Chip Company

The Gourmet Chip Company
43 1/2 Broadway Street, Asheville, NC
828-254-3335
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery
Description: The Gourmet Chip Company makes hand-made, artisan chips like you've never had and gourmet pressed panini sandwiches. We serve old fashion sodas and ice cold beer. Located in downtown Asheville, across the street from the Mellow Mushroom.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This was awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I got the Italian sandwich and the italian chips and SOO good. it was very different from any chips I have ever had and was great for a quick lunch!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    32
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

All the chips are made from scratch. Even the plain chips are good not soggy or greasy. Tried a couple of different kinds and can say they each have their own taste. Sandwiches are also on the enjoyable side. Will go back when in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lawn
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nailed It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

As noted below by others, I was a little skeptical however my wife talked me into it and I'm glad she did! Most chips run around 4.95 a basket and includes the various spices, cheese, sauces, etc. We had the Parisian and the Hot Wing. Each was excellent. The Parisian is our favorite. We didn't try the paninis, but they had a wide selection available. Stop in and try it, you won't regret it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Amazing chips. I was skeptical but I had Parisian chips with goat cheese and added balsamic vinegar. Go there. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
1 review
“great food and then some!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My family has eaten here several times this summer and have never been disappointed. The menu has several pannini options that can be tailored to suit vegan/vegetarian diets (an idea which, thankfully, Asheville seems to really get) and the chips are a treat. The food here is made to order which can necessitate a bit of a wait but the location is great for people watching and the atmosphere and music are good so that hasn't been a problem for us. Behind the counter, we've found Alex to be super friendly and accommodating. She's a real asset. There are SO many great restaurants in A'ville and The Gourmet Chip Company has definitely been added to our list when we're in the mood for a quick bite with flair!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gourmet Chip Company also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Gourmet Chip Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gourmet Chip Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.