We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food - lacking service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roux

Roux
43 Town Square Boulevard, Asheville, NC
828-209-2715
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roux is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #164 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Thetford Street
Description: Discover Roux and you just may become addicted. Our patrons tell us they’re mad about Roux. We knew when we opened we were creating something special, but our patron’s love of Roux is our best affirmation. Our Executive Chef Randy Dunn has created an innovative menu incorporating small plates and comfort food finished with a creative twist. Roux fuses southern comfort with modern sophistication, dishes inspired by our Chef’s grandmother’s kitchen then spiced with locally farmed ingredients that are all Asheville. Our menu features small plates that allow sharing as well as more traditional large plates. A diverse wine list, full service bar and select desserts created in the Roux kitchen complete your experience. At Roux you’ll also enjoy the best service and an inviting atmosphere. Join us for breakfast, lunch and dinner and become mad about Roux.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really good food - lacking service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The food was great - really good. The service however, not so much. The entre was not prepared as ordered and the response from the waitress was almost non existent. She seemed more interested in pushing alcohol on all of her tables to boost the bill.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“That Homemade Taste in a Hotel Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

For about the third time since moving to Asheville, we visited the Roux for Brunch on Sunday.
If you weren't aware you were in a hotel, you'd think you were back at your grandmother's table. There is something special about the taste and the selection of foods offered. NC has an abundance of berries, and biscuits, both of which were presented. The sausage gravy was outstanding as well as the wonderful crisp thick cut bacon. Omelettes, pancakes and eggs were cooked to order. For those in a hurry, croissants, danish, oatmeal, grits, and cereals were also available. We were surprised at the reasonable price as I had two glasses of juice and two cups of coffee as well. Try it----you will enjoy it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Guest Relations Manager at Roux, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello Jacqueline!

Thank you so much for your kinds words!!! We are so glad that you are a fan of Roux and our delicious brunch! If you think that is good, please come by for lunch or dinner - you won't be disappointed. We appreciate your continued business and we hope you come back soon!

Sincerely,

Lauren McDevitt
Marketing and Guest Relations
Roux and Hilton Asheville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A hotel restaurant? You would never know it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

On our first night in Asheville, we chose to eat at Roux. We were skeptical because of its location but decided to give it a shot. We came away extremely pleased and would recommend Roux to anyone. My wife chose the shrimp & grits and I went with a ribeye. Both meals were cooked and presented with perfection. Our server was top notch and didn't miss a beat. His recommendations for sides and extras were spot on. Next time we return to Asheville, we will dine at Roux.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOODSTOCK, GA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I am always hesitant about eating at a hotel but this was quite the treat. Tasty entrees with reasonable prices. Give it a try.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Guest Relations Manager at Roux, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hello Kathy H!

We are so glad you joined us for a meal at Roux! We have so many wonderful creations on our menu and are thrilled that we were a treat for you. Come back soon!

Sincerely,

Lauren McDevitt
Marketing and Guest Relations
Roux and Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
438 reviews 438 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant for brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We didn't expect such a creative brunch menu for a restaurant within a hotel, but this place surprises in so many ways! We ate here twice and loved the service. There was a wide selection of locally produced foods. Fruits and breads were fresh and tasty. Pancakes were cooked to order and included chocolate sauce! Even better was the price. This place is a must do if you are in the area!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Guest Relations Manager at Roux, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear alibarbaraMilwaukee,

Isn't our brunch menu amazing? We are so glad you we were able to surprise you - in a good way! - with our creative menu! If you think brunch was great, you should come back for lunch or dinner. our chef is always cooking up different culinary treats each week and they aren't to be missed! Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Lauren McDevitt
Marketing and Guest Relations
Roux and Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roux also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.