We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food-Great Atmosphere-Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curate

Curate
11 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-3603 (Downtown Asheville)
828-239-2946
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Curate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 624 restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $22 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Patton Avenue
Transit: Asheville Transit provides bus service throughout the City of Asheville and other local areas with 24 bus routes running from 6 a.m.-11:30 p.m., Monday - Saturday. Routes originate at Transit Center, located 49 Coxe Avenue in downtown Asheville (next to the U.S. Post Office). On-duty information assistant provides assistance with maps & schedules.
Description: THE BEST OF SPAIN, conveniently located downtown Asheville! Curate is pleased to bring the best Spain has to offer through our traditional cuisine, unrivaled hospitality and festive, energetic atmosphere. In Spanish, Curate, means 'cure yourself.' Whether you're looking for a fun-filled evening out with friends or a quick bite before or after one of Asheville's many art or music productions, Curate is the place you go to take care of yourself, by letting us take care of you. Please join us for some fun...just say "una cana!"
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food-Great Atmosphere-Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Excellent all around-will be going back often-Service was exceptional. Food was more than expected. Very comfortable and satisfied.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    870
    175
    60
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“tapas fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

plus good food! One can have an evening's entertainment by dining at the bar. When we could not guess which plate was being prepared, our server or one of the staff explained. Service was professional, wine list good, and the variety of plates had a nice mix but not extensive; everything was well prepared and flavorful.
Be there early, 6ish to get a seat at the bar. That staff worked none stop the hour plus we were there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Maybe my expectations were too high based on the reviews but I did not find the food to be as good as the reviews claim. I love Spanish food. I know Spanish food. Not only am I from Spanish descent, but I have traveled to Spain, primarily Barcelona several times.

Most items on the menu are Spanish. But the taste, is not all that. Except for the chicken croquettes which were delicious. The pan con tomate was good and pretty hard to mess up. The patatas bravas were ok, but some pieces were undercooked. The gambas were okay and the butifarra was okay. For the price point, I expected way more than okay. Our biggest disappointment was with the Sangria. It was pretty bitter. I make a killer Sangria and have had Amazing Sangria all over Spain. This, my friends, does not even come close. And at $30 for a pitcher, it was a huge let down. Oh, and the Crema Catalana? We were served milk with a pretty design. It was literally liquid. We could have drank it!

Service was friendly and efficient. We met the owner, and he was very nice as well. The place is small, but comfortable and the location is great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious, everything, every bite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful evening out with my favorite brother inlaw and wife, we had delicious food, it kept coming and we kept eating! Our server put up with our silly behavior and was a good sport sharing advice about our food choices and amounts. Best food we have had in a long time, and we are food snobs.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Jose Andres better look out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We enjoy Jose Andres' restaurants in the DC area and found Curate to be in the same class as Jaleo. The food was creative and tasty while our server, Brian, was informative and efficient. The beer and wine list was extensive and reasonably priced. We agree this was the best of the restaurants we dined at in Asheville.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curate also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Curate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.