We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy but expensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curate

Curate
11 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-3603 (Downtown Asheville)
+1 828-239-2946
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Curate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $22 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Patton Avenue
Transit: Asheville Transit provides bus service throughout the City of Asheville and other local areas with 24 bus routes running from 6 a.m.-11:30 p.m., Monday - Saturday. Routes originate at Transit Center, located 49 Coxe Avenue in downtown Asheville (next to the U.S. Post Office). On-duty information assistant provides assistance with maps & schedules.
Description: THE BEST OF SPAIN, conveniently located downtown Asheville! Curate is pleased to bring the best Spain has to offer through our traditional cuisine, unrivaled hospitality and festive, energetic atmosphere. In Spanish, Curate, means 'cure yourself.' Whether you're looking for a fun-filled evening out with friends or a quick bite before or after one of Asheville's many art or music productions, Curate is the place you go to take care of yourself, by letting us take care of you. Please join us for some fun...Just say "una cana!"
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy but expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have been to Curate several times for dinner and once for lunch. The fried eggplant with honey and rosemary is my favorite!!!!Their menu is fun to peruse and try new flavors and dishes. Reservations are a must! The acoustics aren't that great but your mouth will be full of food most of the time anyway. The spanish martini is worth a try too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,102
    227
    68
    24
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Space, Decent Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having recently been to Barcelona, we wanted to love this place. It was good but not amazing like we anticipated and the reviews had suggested. Maybe we expected too much. Some of the dishes are delicious and others are overly greasy and tasteless. The Iberico Bellota is worth the trip alone. Definitely get the ham tasting plate - Once you have Bellota no ham will be the equal. The cheese selection is quite good and rotates depending on what is fresh. We have been three different times and have had many different things on the menu and each time we have walked away thinking good but not great. Worth the trip as the experience is lovely and the staff is both attentive and knowledgeable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exploratory Tapas and always busy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went to Curate on the recommendation of some friends who had recently visited Asheville. The locals all recommended Zambra's over Curate, but due to availability we ended up at Curate.

We had a reservation at the bar, and at first I thought this to be a negative. The bar ended up being the best place to sit! We sat right in front of the pastry chef and watch him make deserts all night long. From the bar you get to see the whole line at work, and there is still plenty of space available for your multiple tapas plates.

Overall I found the menu at Curate a little too adventurous for my tastes (squid in its own ink, baby octopus, anchovy bread, etc.) But there are were great tapas to be found on the menu, which is quite large for tapas. The beer selection is limited (which is disappointing considering the "Beer City" accolades of Asheville).

Next time we'll take the advice of the locals and check out Zambra's, but Curate is a great tapas restaurant for those wanting a more exotic cuisine experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, North Carolina
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“good tapas, but zambra is better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Curate is a fairly new tapas bar on Biltmore Avenue in downtown Asheville. I’d heard a lot of hype about it and tried to eat there before unsuccessfully (without a reservation). One Saturday evening a friend and I were lucky enough to walk in and get seats at the bar for an early dinner. Their lunch and dinner menu offers up tapas, meats and cheeses, soups, salads, sandwiches, and desserts. I tried the Patatas Bravas and Bocadillo Serrano, both of which were delicious. While I did enjoy the meal, I think Zambra has even better food!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We only found out about Curate days before our arrival in Asheville, and as we were a group of 7, they had no tables available for Saturday night dinner. (Note: They only have two tables in the entire restaurant to accommodate groups that size, so book early if you are a large party.) But lo, they took brunch reservations (a novelty in my dining experiences), and so we booked a table for 11:30am (opening time) on Sunday.

From the moment we sat down, we were not disappointed by a thing that arrived on our table. Everything is tapas style (even the soup if you want it to be), so we ordered 16 dishes for 7 people. Some dishes of note: the canelloni (with chicken liver), the butternut squash soup, the pan tomate with manchego, the roto huevos and the torjillas (which were custard-y, French toast-like deliciousness). Everything had a Spanish/Mediterranean flair, and there were several seafood dishes on the menu, as well (such as octopus, shrimp and squid ink). I had read about the rosemary ice cream on social media sites before our visit and am only bummed we had no room left in our stomachs once dessert rolled around.

Our total bill came to $18 a person, which for the amount of dishes on our table was simply amazing. I was expecting it to be twice that. The service was friendly and kind, and the atmosphere was very sleek and seemed it would appear in a bigger city like Charlotte or Asheville.

This would be my top rec for a place to go when dining in Asheville, so be wise and make a reservation in advance!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curate also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Curate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.