We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just for BBQ Any More” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moe's Original Bar B Que

Moe's Original Bar B Que
4 Sweeten Creek Road, Asheville, NC 28803
(828) 505-8282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $0 - $13
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Moe's Original Bar B Que features award-winning Bama-style pulled pork, ribs, turkey and chicken smoked over hardwood served fresh daily with two unique sauces plus eight to ten traditional Southern sides and tasty desserts. Located in the Biltmore Village area, there are many shops, music venues and attractions nearby with downtown Asheville minutes away. In addition to a beautiful outdoor patio, there are 4 large flat-screen TVs for sports viewing and will be live entertainment on the weekends.
Asheville
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not just for BBQ Any More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

After a busy day of hitting yard sales, I took my sister in law for her first time for lunch. She couldn't decide so she had a little of everything including their award winning wings. I was so full from my awesome BBQ sandwich I had no room for even a bite although they looked amazing - and she confirmed that as she took an order home for dinner. Kudos

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    99
    22
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Wow wow wow...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This small place was just what I was looking for. Pulled pork was very tender. Don't pass on the banana pudding.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

As visitors from Kansas City where BBQ reigns supreme, we decided to give this place a shot based on recent reviews. We founds the ribs to be outstanding melt in your mouth good - tender and meaty. The sauce is mustard based and just ok. Not nearly as good as Kansas City tomato based sauce. We got vinegar based cole slaw which was good, as well as very tasty cornbread stuffing. The large piece of cornbread provided was excellent. The young gal who helped us decide on what to pick was friendly and very helpful. We didn't have to wait long at all for our food but we did get there in mid afternoon so not during peak dinner time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Came to Asheville in March looking for a good BBQ Caterer for our Son's upcoming wedding in April - Problem was - there was so many great BBQ places - Moe's won out with their delicious pulled pork. Try the Jalapeno Cheesy Grits - Now to mention back in April the rehearsal dinner was a big hit with our guest. JJ, Sam, & Wendy - thank you for your great service and delicious food! We don't believe anywhere could have done better.
PS One of our couples went back the next week on their anniversary trip and ate with you again. Still great!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aol
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Dawg gone good bar b que-sorry Tide guys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have to say that even though this little joint is run by some Alabama boys, it's darn good 'que. Stumbled upon it headed out of town and needing lunch. Busy parking lot said this was a place to stop and you know what? It was right. Really good pulled pork sandwich with excellent sides. Nothing else needed. Will be added to our Asheville circuit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moe's Original Bar B Que also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Moe's Original Bar B Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moe's Original Bar B Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.