We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C'mon, excellent chocolate but this is not a restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chocolate Fetish

The Chocolate Fetish
36 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801
+1 828-258-2353
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 Dessert in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Late Night
Description: Home of America's Best Truffles™ and Ecstasy Truffles™ Premium American and European style chocolates.Discerning chocolate lovers have been enjoying quality, award winning, handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish since 1986. We use only the finest ingredients and all our signature products are made in small batches to assure you receive maximum freshness. We do not use chemical preservatives or vegetable oilsLocated on Haywood Street in Downtown Asheville. On street parking available as well as three nearby parking garages.
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“C'mon, excellent chocolate but this is not a restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

In my opinion, TripAdvisor needs to get its act together regarding what is a restaurant and what is not. Chocolate Fetish, like several other chocolate shops in Asheville and like the thousands around the world, is hardly a restaurant -- it's a candy store. It's an excellent chocolate shop, yes, but it is NOT a restaurant. That applies to the French Broad Chocolate Lounge in Asheville as well, though that's more of a dining spot than Chocolate Fetish. If you want to rate retail shops and grocery stores and taverns and convenience stores in the same category as real restaurants, okay, but ranking these shops #3 and #4 out of 350 restaurants in Asheville says something about about TripAdvisor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    99
    17
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
d.c.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A chocolate lover's paradise & Asheville must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The owners' of our B & B told us about this place and it did not disappoint! The minute you walk in and breathe in the aroma of all that homemade chocolate, you are hooked! Every conceivable flavor is wrapped in homemade dark or milk chocolate, and they melt in your mouth. If you're not a chocoholic when you enter, you will be when you leave!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best chocolates in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

The european truffles are amazing! Original flavor combinations and impeccable chocolatiering are a great combination. Don't miss this place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“oh my gosh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Too many delicious flavors and we ate far too much chocolate on our trip. Go, eat, enjoy. You will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

No chocolate lover can miss this place. They have the best chocolate selection shaped differently and all made European style. I discovered this place because they catered at the wedding of a friend of mine, and every piece of chocolate they offered was delicious. Their cacao comes from different places in the world that makes this dessert more exclusive and delicious. My favorite is the ancient pleasure. It is a bonbon of chocolate stuffed with pepper – yes, pepper – a combination that turns out to be exquisite to the taste. Another one you shouldn’t miss is the champagne one, made of actual French champagne, and with a touch of golden powder on the top. Everything there is delightful sin.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chocolate Fetish also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Chocolate Fetish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chocolate Fetish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.