We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's up with the service?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny Point Cafe

Sunny Point Cafe
626 haywood rd, Asheville, NC
828 252 0055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 626 restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Kingston, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What's up with the service?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We've eaten here many times over the last 2 years, the menu and specials are always interesting, the food consistently very good. So why ruin the experience with a surly, hassled server? The cafe was not slammed, and plenty of servers were on hand, so there was no excuse for our server to give us an attitude. Too bad...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    374
    102
    22
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Loved the food, service and especially the gardens! Fantastic, wonderful place. This place is worth a stop for sure and be sure to take a walk through the beautiful gardens.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Locals love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have been here many times and have never disappointed. Food is always good and service staff pleasant. Some breakfast items all day long. Very, very busy on weekend mornings.....go early or be willing to wait. Off the beaten path. Located in West Asheville.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a hot spot. Make sure to get there early or it will be a long wait. It is very popular. The breakfast was really good. Our server was very nice and we truly enjoyed the restaurant. We will definitley go back when we visit Asheville again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing banana bread french toast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place is super popular. We were there on a Tuesday morning and it was well-packed. I can't imagine a weekend. The food is amazing, so I get the popularity. We had the banana bread french toast and wild mushroom omelet. Both were delicious and fresh. The banana bread was quality. Not a skimpy slice but solid portions! It comes with a chocolate sauce which we skipped but is probably amazing. Good coffee, sides and service. There's a pretty cool garden in the back where they grow a lot of their veg. Gave me some great ideas. Enjoy this fabulous place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunny Point Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Sunny Point Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny Point Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.