We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast fest!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny Point Cafe

Sunny Point Cafe
626 haywood rd, Asheville, NC
828 252 0055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 565 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Bald Head Island, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Breakfast fest!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our second trip to Sunny Point was not a disappointment. Often, a first experience is so wonderful the expectation it sets is way too high resulting in a let down on subsequent trips. Not so with Sunny point. Fresh, tasty and good coffee. We will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    168
    35
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Friendly, knowledgeable staff, big portions, delicious food. Wanted oatmeal pancakes but alas, not on the current menu :-(. Gorgeous herb garden next door, check it out!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selsey England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Thought I'd died and gone to breakfast heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had the most delicious vegetarian breakfast "huevos fucheros" - all sorts of yummy ingredients, spices and textures going on . my husband had divine carrot hot cakes with cardamom cream cheese and bacon ( " peppered pork perfection" according to him !) . Get there when they open (8:30) because word is out and by 8:45 there was a wait . You can hang in their vegetable garden or drool over the menu trying to decide what to have !
Can't wait to go back - lunch looked fabulous too .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and all organic breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We love Sunny Point, It is one of the jewels of West Asheville, great food and good people. Love to sit outside when the weather is nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“First time dining at Sunny Point Cafe but hopefully not my last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I ate here today for the first time while on a business trip to Asheville. It is a casual restaurant with a beautiful shaded outdoor waiting area, a covered outdoor dining patio, and inside air-conditioned dining. We sat outside in the covered patio at a small table for two. The menu was intriguing and we had a hard time choosing between breakfast & lunch. My husband had the heuvos rancheros and he said that they were the best he's ever had. I had the black bean tostada which was also excellent. The blending of tastes, built around the grilled chipotle cheese grit cakes, was excellent. The service was top-notch, particularly for a casual dining restaurant. As we were leaving, I mentioned to the hostess that I might just order an appetizer and dessert the next time I visit (the desserts look absolutely scrumptious!) and she took me back into the restaurant to show me each individual dessert and describe it to me! The wait staff keep an eye on each others' tables to refill coffee, water, etc. They have their own adjacent garden where lots of the greens they use are grown. If you've got your heart set on a fancy dress-up place, there are lots of other options in Asheville, but if you're looking for an eclectic menu featuring locally-grown items and friendly servers, you can't go wrong here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunny Point Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Sunny Point Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny Point Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.