We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny Point Cafe

Sunny Point Cafe
626 haywood rd, Asheville, NC
828 252 0055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

the Oatmeal Pancakes were the best I've eaten - they tasted almost healthy!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    141
    27
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

It's difficult to pin down how I feel about Sunny Point. The atmosphere is like Asheville, creative & laid back. However, so is the food, which yields mixed results.

The last time I went for breakfast - which they are locally famous for - was typical of most of my meals here. I got their version of the Grand Slam, and it was terrific. My daughter got shrimp and grits, and it was unrecognizable as either. An off-brown, gluey inedible mess of a thing. My daughter took one bite and switched to water.

I will go back again, but one more disaster like that last one and I'm done.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great desserts and coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

They cater to meals throughout the day. Everything was excellent and decor very nice.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Classic Asheville eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

A local institution, the Sunny Point is best known as a breakfast/brunch spot. They also offer some excellent dinner choices, good wines and local beer. The food is always good and and the kitchen uses natural, locally-sourced ingredients whenever possible. Some vegetables and herbs are even grown on site. The outdoor covered patio is a great place to eat on a nice day. Service is friendly and attentive. They do lose a star for atmosphere since the tables are quite close together and it's hard not to overhear your neighbor's conversations. It's one of our West Asheville faves.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“My New Favorite Breakfast Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is by far my favorite place for breakfast. My partner and I couldn't decide what to try so we ordered three plates to share between us - their breakfast burrito, their french toast with fresh fruit, and a "sampler" that had eggs, nitrate-free sausage, potatoes with fresh herbs and a biscuit. Everything tasted so fresh! Be prepared for a long wait - an hour or more - if you go on a weekend morning. It's definitely worth it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunny Point Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Sunny Point Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny Point Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.