We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chai Pani

Chai Pani
22 Battery Park Ave., Asheville, NC 28801-2715 (Downtown Asheville)
828 254 4003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 653 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Description: Innovative, fun, affordable, delicious, mind blasting Indian Cuisine featuring "chaat" - crunchy, spicy, sweet, tangy, brightly flavored Indian street snacks and "Thalis" - traditional family meals highlighting India's amazing culinary diversity. Recommended by the New York Times and GQ Magazine.
Ellijay, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was my second time here, and I loved it again!
The service was great and the food was delicious!
We tried the shoestring okra and fell in love with it!

Highly recommend is you are in Asheville!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    124
    23
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“fresh and flavorful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Everything we ordered was fresh and carefully spiced. Friendly service and great food at a reasonable price - simply awesome! Can't wait to get back there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Experimenting in Asheville ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Three of us shared a lovely dinner at chai pani. My wife ordered something they were out of and as an apology the brought a plate of fried kale chips. I had a thali centered around a chicken curry that was excellent. The others shared small plates and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal. Don't expect great atmosphere or 4 star service - but very friendly and prompt service in a clean luncheonette decor AND very good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very flavorful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We shared three appetizers (although we should have probably had two - they were huge! The fried Kale (which I didn't expect to like, but it was fantastic!) a salad with little crispies, mango, cilantro and something else was equally as good - no idea what it was called and the potato bites which we didn't like as much.

Great atmosphere, nice staff and the flavorful food came out quickly. We couldn't have asked for more.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant in USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

In weekend trip visited twice this amazing restaurant just bcoz of its wonderful taste and friendly staff. Amazing attitude of staff members, we have asked pani poori which is not their list but waiter said plz tell me what is it we can prepare... I love u guys plz keep this attitude and taste continue...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chai Pani also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Chai Pani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chai Pani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.