We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been here twice, good food both times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pack's Tavern

Pack's Tavern
20 South Spruce Street, Asheville, NC 28801 (Downtown Asheville)
+1 828-225-6944
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pack's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 626 restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Marjorie St
Transit: Bus stop 50 yards from building
Description: Pack's Tavern is proud to be housed in the historic Hayes and Hopson building in the middle of Pack Square Park. We are a locally family owned and operated restaurant serving a deliciously eclectic menu. We pride ourselves on top notch customer service and an inviting atmosphere. Pack's Tavern offers something for everyone as a restaurant, bar, tavern, event space, parkside patio, darts, shuffleboard, 13 TV's, and free live music! Pack's Tavern offers outstanding service, the best drinks in town, and a large eclectic menu of over 60 items; everything from signature salads to hand formed burgers, from wonderful appetizers to fresh cut steaks and seafood in a friendly, hospitable atmosphere. All to be enjoyed in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Asheville's newly renovated Pack Square Park. What else separates Pack's Tavern from other establishments is our unique variety of craft beer. We carefully pair beer styles with food items on the menu so you can experience the remarkable compatibility of food and beer. We rotate 30 or more local, national, and international craft beers to offer the best selection available.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Been here twice, good food both times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I have to say its not the friendliest waitstaff, but they are quick and attentive so that's really all I need. Enjoyed my lunch both times I've been here and so did my husband. Haven't been there for the night time entertainment, but they have a nice outdoor seating area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    124
    124
    33
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, great beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was in town for a conference and wanted to imbibe on some local beer. Pack's was recommended by a local and I must thank them for pointing me hear. The place is huge, but their quick and friendly service makes it seem like a cozy little place. I had the Barbeque Bacon Cheddar Burger, recommended by my waiter, and it was excellent. The sweet potato fries were some of the best I've had and they have a great selection of local, and others, beer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great opening night on our first night on vacation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We hit downtown Asheville, NC on a Saturday evening and alot of the locals recommended we hit Packs for our first night of dinner. They were spot-on! Great food, great service, and really friendly wait staff. They made recommendations for what to do, where to go, what to see, etc... and really showed an interest in their guests and making sure they enjoyed the stay in their town.

Will visit here again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Packs 2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Visited Packs (again) Sept.3 - a very quiet Tuesday eve. Server was very frank and knowledgable - since it was a slow night we enjoyed several good chats. Good selection of local craft brews as well as other drafts. Pack's is a kick back and take it easy kind of joint. Decided it was a burger night and added jalapena's to it. Tried two very different IPAs and both complimented the burger. Splurged for the coconut cream pie - a definate treat - not too heavy. Pack's is just off Paton Ave - well worth the easy walk. Definately on my 'go to' list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good pub type food, good beer and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We ate a late lunch here before we checked into our hotel. We went with the lunch menu which is pub/sandwich type food. They have a good selection of beers. They have an abundance of seating, including on the back patio which was great as the temp was in the low 70s, even in late August. The service was quick, and our waiter was very attentive and personable: humorous and interactive without seeming either fake or cocky which interactive waiters can some come across.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pack's Tavern also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Pack's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pack's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.