We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Quick Lunch Around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roman's

Roman's
75 Haywood St, Suite a, Asheville, NC 28801‎
+1 828-505-1552
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 578 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, Sandwiches, Vegetarian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Roman's is an award winning deli located in the heart of Downtown Asheville, NC. We have been selected as one of the top 12 Deli's in North Carolina & Asheville's Best Burger. Local draft beer & cider accompanies our menu which is created with numerous local ingredients that are brought fresh to our door daily. We offer made from scratch sandwiches, salads & soups and more. Located in the historic Vanderbilt Apartments building between the Pack Square Library & US Cellular Center. Great views of downtown & the historic Basilica St. Lawrence Church.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Quick Lunch Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

When you want to eat quickly and have good food too this place can't be beat. It is a small unpretentious place with a great selection of sandwiches and good veggie options. The tropical cole slaw is sooo good, could make a meal of it. People are ALWAYS friendly and if you are there on the hour you get to hear the wonderful bells from the church. Sit at the window counter and people watch, in Asheville that is entertainement in itself and free. When you are finished wander over to the library used book store this place is in a great location.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    34
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“All-around pleasant goodness.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is really special. REALLY tasty burgers, lovely bread, lighthearted and hospitable service. Yum.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fresh Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stopped in Roman's for lunch and we were so delighted by our meal. My wife had the chicken salad sandwich and I had chicken caprese sandwich both on gluten free bread. The ingredients were very fresh and both sandwiches were delicious. The restaurant is small and if you blink you may just walk by, but if you do you'll be missing a wonderful meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stopped by this gem for a panini and a lemonade. The food was delicious. It was a little pricy, but the quality of ingredients was excellent. It appeared that the delivery option was very popular. I believe the panini cost about $8 and the fresh made lemonade was about $3.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stopped for lunch--Canned black rubbery olives on Greek salad w grilled chicken.--tasteless overall and served with mixed greens -not romaine. The chicken was cut off the Boars head chicken loaf. Really? Club was supposed to have smoked turkey--instead it is deli baked, reheated--couldn't eat it. Won't be back.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roman's also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Roman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.