We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roman's

Roman's
75 Haywood St, Suite a, Asheville, NC 28801‎
+1 828-505-1552
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 565 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Hamburgers, Vegetarian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Roman's is a Locally Driven Deli located in the heart of Downtown Asheville, NC. We have been voted as one of Asheville's Best Burgers. Local draft beer accompanies our menu which is created with numerous local ingredients that are brought fresh to our door daily. We offer made from scratch sandwiches, salads & soups and more. Located in the historic Vanderbilt Apartments building between the Pack Square Library & US Cellular Center. Great views of downtown & the historic Basilica St. Lawrence Church.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Chicken caprese was fantastic! They should start a chain so there's one closer to my hometown.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    17
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I second the disbelief that this place is #1 in Asheville. There are so many better places to eat lunch. Sandwich I had was disappointing - not much flavor. Try Cafe Ello - GREAT sandwiches.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good, inexpensive lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This place has great, fresh options for lunch. the downside was the wait was too long for a chicken salad sandwich. It took probably 15-20 minutes to get our cold deli sandwiches! The five dollar 1/2 sandwich and side lunch menu cannot be beat as far as price. Great potato salad and fresh eggplant/mozzarella.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good but too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I can not believe this is ranked #1 on Trip Advisor. Nice sandwich place, but to be charge $8.50 for a sandwich, and a pickle, no chips or fries, is a rip off. Enjoyed eatting at Tupelo Cafe MUCH better- and get a few biscuit there!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Greatest & Best People & Hambugers!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I just love thier hambugers and they have the best tasting sauv=ce on them.I live in the apartments next door downstairs.Romans is a great place and I have had also good fudge which had different flavors.Lemonade is great tasting as well.If you are coming to asheville then stop by there and by the way the place has clean stuff and no bugs!The view is great.Parking may be hard you know as maybe park in the garages around town.Hope to see you in Asheville and do not forget ROMANS.
Sharon Woody
Asheville NC
May 6,2012

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roman's also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Roman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.