We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining & Insightful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haunted Asheville Ghost Tours

Haunted Asheville Ghost Tours
80 Broadway, Asheville, NC 28804
+1 828-398-4678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 65 Attractions in Asheville
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest & oldest running ghost tour in Asheville! Designed by Joshua P. Warren, author of HAUNTED ASHEVILLE, we offer five different paranormal tours, & we are the ONLY tour that takes you inside the "Asheville Mystery Museum" in the basement of the Masonic Lodge! On your tour, we use digital tabs and lasers to explore Asheville's dark history, the Brown Mountain Lights, and our region's most ominous spooks and specters. See why we've always been #1!
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Entertaining & Insightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Did the trolley ghost tour with Cat and Andy. Had a good time, takes 2 hours to make the tour. Stories are well told. Only real complaint were the seats on the bus. They were hard with very little cushion. Plan on going back for the walking tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    20
    12
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blairsburg, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great historical spin on local ghost stories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We visited Asheville, NC last week and decided to take the Haunted Asheville ghost tour. Every year we travel somewhere special and always include a ghost tour to learn about local paranormal lore and to learn the history of the area from a different perspective. This was one of the best tours we have taken! Tadd did a wonderful job of telling these stories and presenting them in a highly entertaining manner. He was extremely knowledgeable and personable. This will be a highlight of your trip to Asheville!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren
1 review
“Cat was awesome, tour was fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Whenever we go to a new city, we do a haunted history tour. This was one of our very best tours to date! Cat was so knowledgeable about the history of Asheville & the "darker" sides of that history. She narrated the entire time, never tiring, and was really captivating with the way she told the tales. The Mystery Musuem after the tour was very interesting and again, Cat took a great deal of time sharing stories with us. If you are interested in the paranormal or even just odd facts in history, be sure not to miss the Haunted Asheville Trolley Tour. Cross your fingers that you get Cat as a guide because she is fabulous! Thank you, Cat!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great walking tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We try different tours when we have visitors is town. Even the two teenagers loved it (shocking! they can be difficult to entertain). Brian was an excellent tour guide; he really knows Asheville history and was great at story telling. He's also great talking to teens - they followed right behind him, not missing a word. I highly recommend him as your guide.
This tour is informative, not a creep show or comedy tour. It's an easy walking tour, but it is Asheville -- there are stairs and hills. There were a few places to sit and places to take a break.
We didn't have time to see the museum - next time.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Almost felt like a scam”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Do Not get this confused with the Trolley tour!

We decided to go on this tour with some friends one weekend. Our tour guide, Tad, spent more time talking about politics and telling jokes at the expense of the locals then trying to be a tour guide. Not to mention taking phone calls during the tour! We didn't really get to go down these so called ''haunted'' streets, but basically just stood on the corners and tried to see.

The paranormal ''museum'' in the basement of the Masonic Lodge is laughable at best. It's really like they are grasping at whatever they can to try to put together 2 hours of walking and charge 20.00 a person for it.

Normally I would not have complained, but when all 5 of use discussed it after, we realized that everyone felt cheated!

Oh, and don't believe their 100% money back guarentee promise on their website. They just tell you the owner is ''out of town'' and then never get back to you. Funny thing is, we know he has been back in town for a while now...

Don't waste your time or money supporting these hacks.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadowboxent, Owner at Haunted Asheville Ghost Tours, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
We are very proud of our museum. It houses an extensive and unique collection of unusual objects that has taken many years to acquire. And I, the owner, have always been accessible. You can email contact@HauntedAsheville.com or contact@JoshuaPWarren.com and I will see all emails that come in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haunted Asheville Ghost Tours also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Haunted Asheville Ghost Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haunted Asheville Ghost Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.