We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best kept secret about Asheville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bittersweet Cottage & Suite

Bittersweet Cottage & Suite
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bittersweet Cottage & Suite
460 Elk Mountain Scenic Highway, Asheville, NC 28804   |  
Hotel amenities
Durham, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our best kept secret about Asheville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

I am reluctant to tell everyone about what a wonderful place this is because it'll be harder to book, but they do such a good job that everyone needs to know.

Every year in January we visit Asheville for our anniversary. It's a tech-free, low-key, eat lots of good food and buy something special for yourself sort of deal. And part of the charm and appeal of it all is Bittersweet Cottage.

We drive into town at brunch on Sunday, eat at Tupelo Honey's, grab some sea salt caramels and bubbly and then make our way up Elk Mountain to the cottage just in time for check-in. We bask in the familiarity and comfort of the place, pause to take in the beautiful view, start up the stove heater and kickback until dinnertime. We head out for dinner and then come back for caramels, bubbly and an awesome nighttime view in the hot tub. And that's just the first day!

I can't imagine starting our year any better than with good food, rest and relaxation. I highly recommend having Stephen and Matt accommodate you in doing something similar.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new bedford, ma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

My husband, 13-year old son and I stayed at Bittersweet Cottage initially in 2008. We make it a point to return every year! The owners are fabulous...beyond gracious and certainly know what to recommend regardless of what you are there to do. Honestly, this is the kind of place where you check in and don't leave until you HAVE to. We love the cottage and take advantage of the hot tub at night. It is our most favorite vacation of the year. There is something about Asheville that just makes you relax. The view is outrageous, and if we had a second home - this would be it! Their attention to detail is right on....we love them! We cannot say enough about Bittersweet Cottage - you just have to GO!

I really like how they give you a robe and slippers. The hot tub was awesome at night.You can see the whole city and all the stars,it's amazing. I really want to go back.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Wonderful place to stay. We live in Asheville and often go somewhere regionally for an anniversary or birthday. Bittersweet Cottage and Suite was perfect. We stayed in the Suite which has one of the most spectacular views in the area. The space is incredibly comfortable and the owners have provided everything you might need. They also stock the kitchen with coffee and other breakfast goodies so that the first morning, while you are getting your bearings, you can sit back and enjoy the space and the surroundings. We plan to go back in warmer weather so we can walk and sit out on the beautiful deck. This is a great place to rest and restore.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

My fiance and I stayed during the month of August. We still talk about our experience there to this day, which is the reason why I decided to write this review. The owners were so welcoming and helpful with recommending different restaurants and things to do. The cottage was so well appointed, comfortable, relaxing, the decor was perfect. This was such a great find and I was sooooo disappointed we only booked it for a weekend getaway. We will definitely be returning.....hopefully soon! By the way we live in VA so this was a 6 hour drive SO WORTH IT!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bittersweet Cottage & Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bittersweet Cottage & Suite

Address: 460 Elk Mountain Scenic Highway, Asheville, NC 28804
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Elk Mountain with views of Asheville and the Blue Ridge Mountains, you'll find a renovated Arts and Crafts style cottage or a new Asian-inspired suite. 6 miles N of downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bittersweet Cottage Hotel Asheville
Bittersweet Cottage And Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bittersweet Cottage & Suite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bittersweet Cottage & Suite to your Saves list