We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I know why it is rated Best Italian....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian

Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian
641 Merrimon Ave, Asheville, NC 28804-3541
828-253-1077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 653 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Formerly the Award Winning Savoy now Vinnie's. Same owner, same attention to details, quality of food and service.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I know why it is rated Best Italian....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I found this on line and the B&B we were staying in had a to go menu. Sounded good but you never know, although it said it was rated the best Italian in Asheville. You will not be disappointed. Grace was our server and she helped us pick out what she thought was best....they have so many good sounding dishes it was hard to decide. I got chicken Parmesan and it could have easily fed 2 people. My husband got the spaghetti with Sunday gravy with sausage and meatballs. It could have easily feed 3 people and they were single portions. The dessert special was bread pudding. It was good and I don't think you can wrong with anything on the menu. Go visit Vinnie's, we will be back when we return to Asheville. Would you like to open one in Norcross Ga?

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    130
    38
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favorite Asheville foods!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Vinnie's is always my first choice while in Asheville! We were there last night and we had the spinach and cheese calzone, meat lasagna, penne with vodka sauce, and a few beers! David was our server and I always request him, he is so welcoming and always makes me feel valued and like part of the family! The food is the greatest in town and it is such a fun environment! Go visit, I promise you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We are never disappointed, and we are there almost every weekend!Regardless of the size of the crowd, you are made to feel like you are the most important person there....any and all dining needs are met with a smile. The manager, David is the most outstanding; he is never stressed out and "works the room" with the most pleasant persona i have ever seen. We have never had a server that was less than excellent, so week after week we are doted on by whoever is assigned to us. The food is of course, amazing....the portions gi-normous! When we have guest come to Asheville, this restaurant is of course, a MUST DO! Thank you Eric, for having this incredible establishment to go to for all our special and not so special occasions!
Abby and Kevin McDonough

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"A Fantastic meal and Great service everytime"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The food was fantastic. The service was excellent and our waiter, Shawn fully understood the menu's offering and was prompt in meeting all of our dining needs despite a full restaurant...Bravo!! The manager also stopped by the table and was very charming and friendly. Great dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fun Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We went at 6:00 pm on a Saturday night and the place was packed...45 minute wait. So, be prepared for that if you are impatient. But, the bartender was nice and they passed around appetizers of pizza squares. Vinnie's is a small intimate place. The food was good and the service was excellent. The Greek salad was very good as was the lasagna. The specials looked very interesting but we didn't try them. We had a good time and enjoyed Vinnie's. We would go back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.