We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Neighborhood Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian

Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian
641 Merrimon Ave, Asheville, NC 28804-3541
828-253-1077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 624 restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Formerly the Award Winning Savoy now Vinnie's. Same owner, same attention to details, quality of food and service.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This small neighborhood restaurant north of Asheville on US 25 is a fabulous, independent eatery. The food is excellent and the prices are reasonable. The staff is friendly and helpful. When our server was busy at other tables, other staff members helped us. The owner, Eric, told us that he had been open for only two years, but from the number of repeat diners there, you'd think he'd been open for at least 10 years. This is one of those places you hope you will always find when traveling. We're glad we did!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    276
    82
    28
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, good location, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

It's not a cheap place to eat, and you can expect to pay $12-19 for dinner. Would be great for date night. Ordered garlic knots which were good, but the free bread was better. Portions are large, food was great. Tuesday is $2 local brew pint night! Come then!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant was very crowded and seating was very close quarters but the food was very very good. Will definitely go back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“You gotta love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian is a favorite restaurant of ours and we frequent Vinnie's, if not weekly, then certainly several times a month! To start with, their marketing emails are always great fun and more than once have gotten us in there that very same day. Kudos to the staff for those. Then when we go, the staff is so friendly that we always have a great time - the service is very, very good and they are pleasant as well. The food is consistently great - from the Spaghetti with Sunday Gravy (our 18 year old son's personal fave) to their Eggplant Parmigiana (my fave) to their new Lighter Fare Scallops.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Italian...that I wish was in more neighborhoods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We just finished traveling back east and while in Asheville we decided to follow the wonderful reviews on tripadvisor which landed us in Vinnie's Neighborhood. Reading the other reviews, we knew it was on the" other side" of town, which by the way, if you're staying downtown or by the Biltmore Village is only a 10 minute drive!! From the moment we walked in the the door, we knew we made the right choice for dinner. The owner and staff greeted us like we were old friends that haven't seen each other for a while. We didn't have reservations, so we got comfortable at the bar and had some amazingly good cocktails. The owner came by to assure us we wouldn't have a long wait, and he was right, a little less than 15 minutes...
What a cozy and friendly place!! We finally received the Southern Hospitality that we've always heard about! The owner himself seems to direct all the action and quite honestly, he knows what he's doing!!!
Now comes deciding on what to eat...wow what a fantastic selection. We were a party of 4 and what we liked was that many of the dishes here can be ordered family style, which was good since by this point I wanted to try everything that I saw pass our table. Having been raised in NY we all knew good Italian food but we live in Los Angeles now, so good Italian food is always a quest of ours.
Italian Garbage Salad... Eggplant Parm... Linguini and Clams....Sausage and Peppers all were outstanding!!! We were stuffed, like the ravioli...and all I gotta say is...Vinnie's is da place!!

A restaurant that should definitely not be missed when in Asheville!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.