We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as last time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 131 Main Restaurant

131 Main Restaurant
308 Thetford St, Asheville, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Geneva, Illinois
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went on a Wednesday night when they have $2 pints for several beers. You can't beat that (although they did charge us $5 for the beers, but quickly changed the bill when we pointed this out). We had the deviled eggs appetizer, which was very good. I ordered the flounder, but the weren't serving it as they said the day's delivery wasn't up to par. So instead I had the halibut. The fish was very good, but the outside was grilled to too much of a crispiness for my taste. And I passed in the quinoia salad on the side for some rice. But it turned out to be bizmati, which I'm not fond of. I should say that one of my associates had the steak special and commented that it was cooked perfectly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    63
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect. The service, the perfectly prepared steaks, asparagus, to the freshly made strawberry shortcakes. Sat outside with dog and they were very accommodating to her. Will definitely go back.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Staff does great team work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed the teamwork environment. Drinks were outstanding. We really enjoyed the atmosphere. The cornbread was excellent. A must have.
The pan seared fish was flavorless, but my husband had the pork chop and loved it. Another one of us had the shrimp and grits and it was very nice.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant & Shopping Nearby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Overall outstanding menu with great wine selection.at excellent prices. All bottles of wine half price on Mondays and Tuesdays. Meat Loaf (normally not one of my favorites) was super and the roasted chicken as well. Desserts such as Banana Cream Pie to die for. Even the service was top notch. Highly recommend from a person who has dined throughout the world.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“well prepared and presented”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Needing to recover from Biltmore Town Square shopping (REI and Orvis), we spotted 131 Main and it was just right. Outside in good weather -- well served, well presented -- the sisters had Metropolis salads with a nice bright iced tea. Salads were balanced with pulled chicken and an exotic date& honey lime vinaigrette. I enjoyed the Crab Cake Salad which I intuited (surprisingly) paired well with a Michelob Ultra with lots of extra lime squeezed in.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 131 Main Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to 131 Main Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 131 Main Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.