We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ghost Hunters of Asheville

Ghost Hunters of Asheville
1 Page Avenue in the Grove Arcade, Asheville, NC 28801
828-779-4868
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Three separate 90-minute ghost tours cover different aspects of historical, haunted Asheville. The exclusive interactive downtown tour features use of ghost-hunting equipment. Historical Montford’s architectural beauty and stunning landscapes serve as backdrop for hunting ghostly specters. Riverside Cemetery beckons to those who dare enter and commingle with the ghosts of eras past.
Candler, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The guide was excellent and we had an awesome time. The number of haunted areas in Asheville was striking, and the guide knew the history behind every one. We even had a ghost tell us to go away....we talked about the trip for weeks, this is a must see.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    17
    6
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Guide, If you like History, this is a must go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We has Todd as our guide and he was just great. He is so knowledgable about the town's history and he goes and talks to owners of building you will see to get up to date information. The "ghost hunting" equipment is sort of cheesy because you are in town where electricity constantly sets them off but the younger kids on the tour loved it.
My boyfriend and I love history, so this was a great tour for that, learning about the history of the buildings and seeing some creepy spots along the way. The constant photo snapping got old looking for "orbs" but Todd was honest and would tell you when he thought an orb was real or fake, he discounted most of them because he works in photography, I found this refreshing as most guides I would think would say, "yes! of course every speck of dust is an orb!". We definatly did stand in a few spots that had a "wierd feel" and I didn't want to be there anymore.
Overall, I would recommend this because it is interesting. If you want something silly I'd recommend the comedy ghost tour.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Ghost Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Nice walking tour of Asheville; good history; fun times. A number of folks captures "orbs" on their cameras - pretty cool. We went with group of 20, which was really too large of a group.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun way to see town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our guide did a great job of doing a ghost tour with a comic twist. Lot's of fun on a nice night.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun, but no "ghosts"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Nice walking tour of Asheville. We did get some pictures of "orbs", but it could have been dust...who knows? The tour was somewhat interesting - guide pointed out some interesting facts, but mispronounced local restaurant names and had a couple of historical facts in there that were, indeed, not true. For some reason, even though we called and made a reservation, that never came through. If you use a Groupon, be certain to re-confirm.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghost Hunters of Asheville also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Ghost Hunters of Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghost Hunters of Asheville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.