We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun way to see town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ghost Hunters of Asheville

Ghost Hunters of Asheville
1 Page Avenue in the Grove Arcade, Asheville, NC 28801 (Five Points)
828-779-4868
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #40 of 66 activities in Asheville
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Three separate 90-minute ghost tours cover different aspects of historical, haunted Asheville. The exclusive interactive downtown tour features use of ghost-hunting equipment. Historical Montford’s architectural beauty and stunning landscapes serve as backdrop for hunting ghostly specters. Riverside Cemetery beckons to those who dare enter and commingle with the ghosts of eras past.
Oakton, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun way to see town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our guide did a great job of doing a ghost tour with a comic twist. Lot's of fun on a nice night.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    15
    6
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun, but no "ghosts"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Nice walking tour of Asheville. We did get some pictures of "orbs", but it could have been dust...who knows? The tour was somewhat interesting - guide pointed out some interesting facts, but mispronounced local restaurant names and had a couple of historical facts in there that were, indeed, not true. For some reason, even though we called and made a reservation, that never came through. If you use a Groupon, be certain to re-confirm.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unprofessional Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife and I called about a ghost tour on our honeymoon and the company said they would need our credit card to reserve a spot (I would not advise giving your information over the phone with these people). Upon our arrival we called ghost hunters of Asheville, and were told that we were given the wrong address and we would need to walk to the new ghost tour location IN A THUNDERSTORM, but when arrived there was no one there. We later found out they would charge our card without our consent, and they would not give our money back. When calling back to complain about the unauthorized charge, we were told never to call back or they would press charges.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghostlady2, Owner at Ghost Hunters of Asheville, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
We knew this was coming...! We've only had 2 outrageous customers in 4 years, but they always head straight to TripAdvisor!! The hotel claims they gave this couple directions, and when I tried to give directions on their initial call, they interrupted saying they knew where to go. The last sentence ever said to someone is: "If you have any questions or problems, just give us a call at this number." At 9:01, the wife called and said they didn't want to go anymore. Would they have to pay for it? When I replied yes, she said, "I thought so." We have only a one hour cancellation policy. When I asked her why she hadn't called before, she said she didn't know. Her husband called us back four times -- screaming, calling us names, and using 4-letter words. I asked him to please stop shouting so we could discuss it. His reply: "Not until you start being reasonable." 1. It's difficult to discuss resolution when someone is constantly yelling and swearing. 2. You're not as willing to bend over backwards for someone who has gone beyond bullying you and entered into the realm of verbal abuse. 3. You can't call any event to cancel after it has started. No one can run a business this way. 4. All businesses take credit card reservations to ensure folks will show up or call to cancel. We had given these people a special rate because it was their honeymoon. It is extremely unfortunate their trip was marred by this, but with our one-hour cancellation, we are offering people the most flexibility we can and just need them to show a bit of responsibility to us too. -- Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehighton, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Wonderful Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I took this tour and it was so fun! The tour guide, Deb was exceptionally knowledgeable about the area, homes and people that lived there now and earlier in time. We did not catch to much action but a girl on our group did catch some things on her camera but just listening to the history was very interesting. The houses themselves are something to look at. I would highly recommend this tour!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very cool. Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

What made this tour stand out from the dozen or so other ghost tours we have enjoyed is that our guide Todd was not only an expert in his local history and architecture but he brought along equipment for us to use to "ghost hunt" ourselves. It was so much fun to see the instruments reacting while they were in your own hands!! Great stories and facts, beautiful city, and personable guide. Very worthwhile.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghost Hunters of Asheville also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Ghost Hunters of Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghost Hunters of Asheville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.