We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and overdone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Posana Cafe

Posana Cafe
1 Biltmore Ave, Asheville, NC 28801 (Formerly Posana) (Downtown Asheville)
828-505-3969
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Posana Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Continental, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Patton
Description: Educated at the Culinary Institute of America, Exec Chef/owner Peter Pollay brings years of restaurant experience to one of Asheville's most beautiful corners. All of Posana Cafe's dishes, desserts and pastries are prepared from scratch featuring premium ingredients. Enjoy lunch, dinner or weekend brunch on the spacious patio, or looking out onto Historic Pack Square from the dining room, lounge or bar. Posana Cafe utilizes local farmers and purveyors and chooses to serve only hormone/antibiotic-free meats and eggs. Posana's pastry chef & culinary team are constantly evolving the menu to reflect seasonal and local specialties in addition to offering the region's largest selection of gluten-free cuisine. The bars expansive menu features house-made flavored syrups, mixers, infused liquors & freshly squeezed juices providing an exemplary drink experience when ordering a custom soda, espresso drink or cocktail. Celiac Friendly: Gluten free menu available.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Overpriced and overdone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We visited Posana because my wife has Celiac disease, and she was excited about the all gluten free menu. It was entirely too uppity for us. You couldn't even order a simple glass of iced tea - I ordered it and they brought out this device that brewed the tea into a small, single-serve pitcher; very strange. The food was good, but not as good as it would need to be to justify the high prices. I can't honestly recommend trying this one.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPollay, Owner at Posana Cafe, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Posana Cafe. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize for not meeting your expectations A lot of thought and care goes into every decision that effects the guest experience at Posana Cafe and the iced tea service is no exception. It’s for that reason we selected Tea Forte’s Organic Ceylon Gold Tea over Ice, which is flash brewed table side and provides our guests with 24oz of outstanding iced tea for $3.25.

It’s our desire, and the desire of our entire staff, to create an experience for each and every guest that will leave them looking forward to their next visit. Please except our sincere apologies that we were unable to provide you with a memorable dining experience.

Sincerely,

Martha & Peter Pollay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    88
    34
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What happened to the Posana's I used to know?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have visited Posana's in the past and loved it and were anxious to dine in their renovated dining room. The space is beautifully done. Our reservation was for 5:45 p.m. and we ordered an appetizer which arrived 45 minutes later. Our meal arrived 20 minutes after that and just wasn't up to par, I was told that the Chili Marinated Tofu might be a bit spicy. I appreciated the warning because I don't enjoy overly spicy food, but there was no heat in the dish at all. It was rather bland and very oily. The tomato-garlic soup was very oily as well. The Spring Artichoke Risotto had a very unique and nice flavor. The Quinoa Salad with Kale and tomato was just okay. Very little kale and too much of the Theros olive oil on top. Wait staff seemed inexperienced and not so knowledgeable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPollay, Owner at Posana Cafe, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience. We’re sorry you had a disappointing visit back. We’ve shared your feedback with our staff and they have been reminded of the importance of timely and knowledgeable service.

We apologize if any of your dishes were exceptionally oily. We have extended your comments to our kitchen staff in the event this item was used excessively the evening you dined with us.

While it’s always disappointing to hear we failed in living up to a guest’s expectations, we do value your feedback as it is our greatest tool for improving service. We are dedicated to providing each guest with an exceptional dining experience and hope on a future occasion you will allow us the opportunity exceed your expectations.

With kind regards,

Martha and Peter Pollay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Organic, gluten free and a chef gourmet!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Can't believe how wonderful the experience can be in this restaurant. Everything as fresh and done with style, and recipes are original and soo tasty. Even the burger on a soft delicious gluten free bun. Kale salad,mmm. Brunch to dinner with the best cappuccino outside Italy. You will probably need a reservation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Springs, Tennessee
Top Contributor
634 reviews 634 reviews
630 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 253 cities Reviews in 253 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“A great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a beautiful restaurant, very tastefully decorated and serving some excellent fare. Service is impeccable, the staff seem to fade away until you need something. The soup de jour was creamy potato with rosemary and lemon. North Atlantic Cod was my entree and Buchi berry sorbet finished my meal. All were superb.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Greatness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I dream of Posana's kale salad. The food is fresh and the atmosphere is beautiful. All the desserts are gluten free and they are delicious.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posana Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Posana Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posana Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.