We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dessert only so that is all I can talk about” 4 of 5 stars
Review of French Broad Chocolate Lounge

French Broad Chocolate Lounge
10 S. Pack Square, Asheville, NC 28801
+1 828-252-4181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 Dessert in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Bakeries, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night
Dawsonville, Georgia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Dessert only so that is all I can talk about”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stopped in for a little bit of chocolate after dinner last night. Got a brownie with chocolate bits in it, not too sweet but very chocolate. Oh myyyyy! We shared a table with a fellow sitting alone who had the Liquid Truffle. He said it was to die for. The place gets very crowded in the evening but we only had the brownie and left before the crowd. Wonderful place if you like chocolate!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    215
    60
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Delighted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stopped in for a pick-me-up in the early afternoon. Perfect! We had presspot coffee mocha, and shortbread cookies. Awesome on both. If you want a treat, this is the place. The coffee mocha include a 16oz presspot of coffee, with two full pots of creamy chocolate and two full pots of steamed milk. - more than enough to satisfy! The shortbread cookies were half covered with chocolate and nits, and half plain. Very rich! Don't eat here too soon before dinner or you'll regret it. Otherwise, you get way more than your money's worth. If in Asheville, don't miss this stop!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Appreciate late hours, but disapointed in quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Would have thought Chocolate Mousse would at least have been good...but no..very plain and unsatisfying...the only other dessert, creme brulee with lavender...I could taste the egg whites..just not a great time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cute place, delicious chocolate...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stopped by this great little place after a concert. Great for a late night chocolate fix. Friendly staff. Cozy, cool atmosphere. Chocolate was delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“For Chocoholics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had the maple and smoked sea salt liquid ganache truffle (it's like sipping the center of a truffle). It was one of the best chocolate things I've ever had in my life, so we went back the next night. The atmosphere is like a coffee shop. They also serve coffee, beer, wine & other desserts. It's open late and there is always a least somewhat of a line. The line moves quickly and there seems to be enough seating, but they have a fire capacity issue. So, they have to keep some people out at certain times. In any event, you should not miss this place if you like chocolate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Broad Chocolate Lounge also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to French Broad Chocolate Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Broad Chocolate Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.