We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After dinner treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of French Broad Chocolate Lounge

French Broad Chocolate Lounge
10 S. Pack Square, Asheville, NC 28801
+1 828-252-4181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“After dinner treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We went to this place twice before the line was short enough for us. With that being said, we were anxiously awaiting a great chocolate treat. The chocolate mousse met with our expectations but the macaroon with chocolate was dry. The people watching was great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    187
    43
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Indiana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really cool place. A must visit!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a whim while in Asheville. Waited in line outside the place for 15 mins at 10:00 PM. It was well wirth the wait. We had the Quintessential Chocolate cake and a 16 oz press pot of coffee. It was the best!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Chocolate dreams”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you like chocolate and you are in Asheville, this is a must-stop. This business is cute, has free internet, friendly service, and a great selection of goodies. I had the ginger cookie dipped in chocolate (delicious!). Then I had a scoop of maple bacon ice cream! I should have bought a gallon! It was so good (the menu says it came from ultimate ice cream- another restaurant in asheville). Then I had a liquid truffle. I wasn't that impressed, but that could have been because I was on chocolate overload and about to burst! If you like chocolate, go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Unique Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Chocolate lovers will be thrilled with the variety of options available at the French Broad Chocolate Lounge. Everything looked so delicious, it was hard to choose what to order, but I decided on a Chocolate Pots de Crème. It was so rich I had a hard time eating it all, but it was quite yummy.

The young man at the register was less than friendly, so I would say that the service could definitely use an upgrade. Still worth a visit though. I plan on returning on future trips to Asheville.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Overrated and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The best of Asheville's wait staff scene...tattoos, piercings, strange hair styling. And poor attitude and customer service to go with it. As a local this was my first visit and will be my last. A simple and small caramel turtle was $2.25. Are you kidding me?! And of course the aforementioned to make the experience all the more miserable. If in town visiting dont waste your time and money here as there are at least 3-4 other chocolatiers all within a few blocks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Broad Chocolate Lounge also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to French Broad Chocolate Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Broad Chocolate Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.