We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Broad Chocolate Lounge

French Broad Chocolate Lounge
10 S. Pack Square, Asheville, NC 28801
+1 828-252-4181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert
Longwood, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We came here as part of the Eating Asheville tour, then came back on our own.
The chocolates are wonderful. So is the french press coffee and the desserts.
Would recommend!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    187
    43
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Shaken not Stirred.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This wonderful shop knows how to bring the best out of chocolate. Much of it is not overly sweet, over overpowered by other ingredients. The olive oil chocolate cake is dense and moist the acidity in strawberry puree, made from locally grown strawberries, is a perfect match. The cold drinking chocolate, made from coconut milk, is shaken over ice and poured into a wine glass, if I was 007 this would be my drink. The shop also serves beer and wine, I paired a local stout with the chocolate cake, an excellent combination.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Did I mention chocolate?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

They offer exceptional chocolates, desserts, and coffees. If you tried the European Milk Chocolate, be forewarned it is very sweet [tastes like you're drinking fresh made chocolate pudding]. Great place to take a load off!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A favorite in Asheville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Yum! Mint chocolate brownies are especially good. We love going here--quirky place, but comfortable with great array of chocolate desserts! A destination in Asheville, loved by our children and us alike!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Found French Broad via tripadivsor and it was amazing. The line was out the door when we arrived and we waited in anticipation to get to the display cases to see the items. The truffles were beautiful, cakes looked amazing and the place was buzzing at 3pm on a Saturday afternoon. I ordered 6 different truffles and a slice of the chocolate ganache cake. All was amazing and I am still saving the truffles by eating 1 per day. Wonderful place and great atomsphere!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Broad Chocolate Lounge also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to French Broad Chocolate Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Broad Chocolate Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.