We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a Cheap Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Asheville West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Asheville West to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Asheville West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1914 Old Haywood Road, Asheville, NC 28806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good for a Cheap Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is clean. I have bad allergies and this hotel did not make me sick. The detergent used to wash the towels and sheets is less toxic than typical of the Holiday Inn Express. Very little to no mold was in the room. The room came with a fridge and microwave, which made preparing my own meals easier. The staff is very nice.
On the other hand, the hotel is 10 to 30 minutes away from most places you would like to go. The staff have little knowledge of the area attractions and "foodie" destinations (They will tell you to go to the Dunkin Donuts for coffee with sincere enthusiasm). The wifi also didn't work well in the room and didn't like my iPhone in the lobby. The bed is very soft. This may be a problem for some people.
Do not, like us, get a room by the ice machine. Also, ask for a room on the top floor so that you will not hear children (I assume?) jumping off the bed in the room above you until 1 am.

Room Tip: Do not, like us, get a room by the ice machine. Also, ask for a room on the top floor so that you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    212
    53
    17
    5
See reviews for
307
385
32
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The title about sums up my experience here. The room was very clean and comfortable, central AC, good beds with nice linens. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was great with lots of hot and cold choices, including eggs, biscuits, gravy, oatmeal, waffles, cereals, fruit, juices, and very good coffee. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We split the drive to Nashville in half by staying 1 night in Asheville. This hotel was a great choice. The staff were very friendly and provided excellent service, our room was clean and comfortable, and I had requested that we be given a room on the 4th floor away from the elevators to avoid noise and this was fulfilled. We had a nice dinner just around the corner, had a restful stay and a good breakfast before heading on our way. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was very happy with the front desk staff. They went out of their way to make sure everything was okay. They provided maps, recommended places to visit, answered questions, and even helped printing out boarding passes. The coffee, tea and cookie station is a plus. The free breakfast included eggs, sausage, biscuits, sausage gravy, waffles, cereal, fruit, yogurt, pastries, bagels,coffee, tea, and juice options.This is a great deal for families. We were there for a college orientation visit. It is close to Interstate 40 and the map provided by the front desk is very helpful to see Asheville.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for help for a good room choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a lovely time during our weekend stay at the Country Inn & Suites Asheville West! The staff was very helpful from checking in to offering suggestions for places to eat and visit. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. The staff was just great at being a wonderful host and very helpful!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The rooms are large, the staff is friendly. While the rooms are clean, we had to ask for room service on the second day after returning around 5 PM from our day trip in the mountains. You're a good ways from downtown or the Biltmore. Breakfast is edible, nothing special. We could hear people and their TV's in the rooms around us fortunately nobody stayed up late. As a base of operations for our 3 day weekend in Asheville it was OK, based on the reviews I was expecting a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was very pleased by the management and staff at this hotel. They were all extremely warm and friendly. The restaurant suggestions by mgr. Michelle were crucial to our great time in Ashville. The check-in clerk was very knowledgeable about discounts to the Biltmore Estates as well as local eateries. Loved my stay there. The only possible drawback was the shortage of help during the continental breakfast rush. This happened 2 times out of 3. I felt sorry for those on duty. It was impossible to keep pace with the guests. All in all, they did a commendable job. Maria , the morning clerk along with the kitchen staff worked at a grueling pace to stay on top of the situation. Overall, I would (and will) definitely stay here again. I felt their rates were very fair also.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for print outs of recommended dining and maps for the area. They are most helpful an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Asheville West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Asheville West

Address: 1914 Old Haywood Road, Asheville, NC 28806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#4 Family Hotel in Asheville
#6 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Asheville West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the newest hotels near Asheville, the Country Inn & Suites West Asheville Hotel Biltmore Estate. Our Biltmore-inspired hotel features French decor, a tranquil waterfall feature and a French gazebo overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains. Our hotel is conveniently located near Interstates 26 and 40, just minutes from the beautiful Biltmore Estate, one of Asheville's most popular tourist attractions, the Blue Ridge Parkway, Biltmore Mall and Asheville Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Asheville West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Asheville West Hotel Asheville
Country Inn And Suites Asheville West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Asheville West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.