We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, affordable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate) to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1914 Old Haywood Road, Asheville, NC 28806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, affordable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here the beginning of May. The hotel had recently been renovated, and the rooms were quite nice. I especially liked the bathroom with its excellent lighting. The room also had a fridge and microwave and blackout curtains on the windows. The room rate included a full breakfast buffet with eggs, bacon, and sausage, biscuits, gravy, fresh fruit, cereal, waffles, muffins, sweet rolls - a great variety, all of which could be eaten in a pleasant breakfast room. The hotel also had fresh-baked cookies and coffee available all day. I was especially impressed by the helpful, friendly staff, both at the desk and in the breakfast room. The hotel is just 15 minutes from the airport and 6 to 8 minutes from downtown Asheville. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    282
    70
    21
    7
See reviews for
412
497
43
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our room was sparkling clean as was the bathroom, and the beds were comfortable. The morning breakfast was outstanding, eggs, bacon, waffles as well as the usual sweets. Only downside was the general commercial and not scenic area. The price was terrific!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniels
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed over the New Years weekend and again this past weekend and it was a very pleasurable experience. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, pleasant breakfast.....just disappointed that the hot tub was not available after a long day at the Biltmore. Easily accessible to downtown and the Biltmore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I opted to stay here for an anniversary trip based on the price I found and the location. It was a decent place, average hotel where nothing really stood out. We opted for a room on the fourth floor but after waiting on the slowest elevator ever, we began to regret that decision. Not only is it terribly slow, it's also very loud (it chimes on every floor whether it stops or not) and we could hear it throughout the night. The walls are paper thin so I was woken up many times throughout the night by voices in the hallway. The pillows were incredibly comfortable but the bed wasn't. The bathroom was clean and updated but they need to invest in some new, plush, not scratchy towels. You basically had to pat yourself dry or rub skin off. The bathroom vent is on a motion sensor and would randomly come on when no one was in the bathroom, rattling noisily. And the thermostat was hard to regulate. We were either burning up or freezing cold.

Breakfast was again, average. The biscuits were rock hard, the gravy was a thick glop. They could benefit by putting glasses by the cereal bar where the milk is located. And also making sure the plates are dry before putting them out for guests.

The hotel was located right off I-40 so it was easy to get downtown in no time. When we return to Asheville, I doubt we'd stay here again though.

Room Tip: Fourth floor, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have to say the rooms were nice but the man who claimed it was "His hotel" took offense when I complained about several guests who were cooking LARGE meals in their rooms and the smell was over powering. He said, "I know what goes on in my hotel. Do you have the right to cook in your room?" Instead of addressing the problem he was very condescending and smart aleck. So unless you like sumo wresting above you and pungent ethnic food polluting your room and a smart aleck man who says, "I built this hotel, I know what is going on"with a big fake smile, then you may want to try a different one. I liked this room. I stayed here for 3 weeks, but he indicated to me he'd like me to leave tomorrow. I think I will. I do not recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Room 107 has a Jacuzzi but the water comes out rusty and nasty and the filter were jammed with unmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived at his hotel in July 2012. There is ample free car parking. As soon as you arrive at the entrance it is obvious that this hotel has been recently constructed - this is supported when you go inside as the decoration is very fresh and new. Check in was quick and uneventful - the receptionist answered our questions on the local area (additional information was not volunteered) but unfortunately they had run out of local maps. The rooms are also very clean and have every thing you would expect from Country Inns. We had a high level room at the rear of the hotel and the view was nondescript. The hotel is around 5 miles from the centre of Asheville, but there are a few restaurants close to the hotel. Breakfast was the normal Country inns fare and was well stocked and very clean. We would love to return to Asheville and would consider staying again at this hotel providing the rate remains cheaper than the other comparable hotels? Otherwise we would look for a hotel closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridian, ms
Level Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night before going to Biltmore. It s about 6 miles from Biltmore on interstate. Close to dairy queen and Mexican restaurant. The staff were friendly and the room was clean and nice. They had a fitness center that included 2 walk machines and elliptical. The hot tub was closed when I was there and they had a small outside pool. Breakfast was your average fair of biscuits, bacon, oatmeal, cereals and fruit. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
3.0 mi away
Inn on Biltmore Estate
Inn on Biltmore Estate
#1 of 59 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#14 of 59 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 900 reviews
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#26 of 59 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
5.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)

Address: 1914 Old Haywood Road, Asheville, NC 28806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Asheville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#7 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the newest hotels near Asheville, the Country Inn & Suites West Asheville Hotel Biltmore Estate. Our Biltmore-inspired hotel features French decor, a tranquil waterfall feature and a French gazebo overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains. Our hotel is conveniently located near Interstates 26 and 40, just minutes from the beautiful Biltmore Estate, one of Asheville's most popular tourist attractions, the Blue Ridge Parkway, Biltmore Mall and Asheville Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Asheville West Hotel Asheville
Country Inn And Suites Asheville West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.