We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel and Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel was great! We stayed for only one night but I hope to be back at some point. The staff was friendly and helpful whenever we would call down to the desk for items or ask questions about getting around town and even offered to print off directions for us at one point. There was no extra charge for parking and you can either self park or valet. The location was great and is within easy walking distance of the city center. The decor was modern and nice and the hotel and the rooms are extremely clean. I've read a couple of reviews saying that it was noisy? We had a corner room that overlooked the street on the second floor so if this were true we should have definitely heard some sort of noise and I didn't hear so much as a car the whole time. I also read reviews about people saying the elevators are slow? I mean, if you have an issue with waiting 30 seconds for an elevator then yes, I can see how this may annoy you. However, for normal people I don't believe this will be an issue. All in all it was a GREAT hotel and I cannot wait to get back!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing such a thorough and thoughtful review with us! Our team is proud of the excellent service they provide our guests. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Asheville!

Warmly,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    263
    73
    26
    16
See reviews for
121
510
34
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a very nice & modern hotel in Downtown Asheville. It is in walking distance to the city center and all the nice restaurants.

The hotel is very modern and the rooms are very efficient and clean. The one bad thing is you can hear everything. Don't ask me how, but you can absolutely hear everything and it was hard to sleep well because of it.


The staff was very pleasant and helpful at check in and in suggesting places to visit.

The rooms come with a desk to work at, a comfortable bed, flat screen TV, great shower and fridge.

I hope this helps you in your hotel decision.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Asheville. We are working on some innovative ideas to better sound-proof our rooms to create a quieter experience for our guests that are sensitive to background noises. We truly hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Warmest Wishes,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

When we entered our room my wife said this was the best hotel she has probably ever stayed at. I would agree the design flair and the modern design motifs were great and well appreciated. All of the staff was very friendly and the concierge was more than happy to help with activity or restaurant selections.

We also liked how there was fresh filtered water on our floor, granted this is not on every floor but it was on ours and we made ample use of it.

Most of all we loved the location to downtown, it was a very easy walk to all of the restaurants and shopping downtown has to offer and it was right off the freeway for arrival and leaving. I'd definitely look here again.

Only downside is they do not have a pool that were were aware of at least.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor with a water filter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are so pleased that you had an outstanding experience with us in Downtown Asheville. We absolutely love having the opportunity to show our guests what we love most about this boutique mountain town. Western North Carolina is home to so many beautiful natural watering holes, we would be happy to recommend one on your next visit to Asheville.

Warmly,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just returned from a trip to Asheville and stayed at Indigo on the advice of another traveler. It was a terrific hotel with exceptionally nice staff and well appointed rooms. It's only a few minutes walk to the Arcade or major downtown restaurants (Wall Street is a 5 min walk). The rooms are well appointed with "hardwood" floors, a terrific shower and interesting architectural touches. I was also grateful for the convenient and free parking!

The only downsides were that the view from our room wasn't the best (we overlooked a telecom company parking lot) and there was an occasional amount of significant traffic noise , but it was never a major issue.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up and on the city side of the hotel (not on the highway side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you had such an exceptional experience with us in Asheville. We are the ideal "home base" for visitors who want to explore Asheville on foot. Perhaps on your next visit we can interest you in one of our luxury penthouse suites, so that you can enjoy the breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

Warm Regards,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas texas usa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Loved the service, location and rooms. We parked and enjoyed walking everywhere downtown, lots of great eateries and shops. We had a big group with all sorts of travel issues, lost luggage, late planes, etc and the staff was always accomodating friendly and very helpful. Loved the breakfasts here. Our rooms were fabulously big and modern with beautiful views.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are so proud that our team was able to provide you with such exception service during your visit. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Asheville!

Best Wishes,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I paid $300 a night and overall were pleased. Bed was very comfortable. Convenient enough location, but a 10-15 min walk to the farthest but busiest parts of downtown. But still close enough to the action and the walk is all with shops and restaurants along the way. The Loft has better location but I was happy with our choice as the Loft was $360/night. Don't even think about staying "very convenient to downtown or just "5 minutes" away. Might as well go to a different city because the fun of Asheville is being downtown.

Lobby is kind of stark but that's the look they are going for. Room was same...wood floors, no rugs/carpets. We lucked out with a nice large corner room (814). Staff was pleasant and helpful...especially the valet guys. The negatives: the elevators are super slow because they only have 2 for a 12 story hotel. The pressure on the showerhead was awlful. It was hard to get wet. No tub, and only one sink in the bathroom. For $300/night it would be nice to have 2 sinks. Probably deserves a "3 and a half star" given the price. My guess is off-season the price drops dramatically. At $200/ night I give it 4 stars for sure. Asheville is a fun town! If you havent been you need to go. Gil

Room Tip: get high NE corner if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to provide excellent service and comforting accommodations. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your visit in downtown Asheville.

Warmest Wishes,

Jamie Bratcher
Guesr Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My daughter and I are currently spending 4 days at the Indigo in Asheville. While the room decor is nice it is definitely not well thought out. To charge our iPhones and iPad we must move furniture and unplug lights and the clock. There are no outlets nor charging stations near the desk (which is placed directly in front of the only mirror in the room). The cleanliness and in-room coffee is what I would expect to find at a 2 star hotel. No attention to the details that make a hotel stay a vacation.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
I appreciate that you took the time to share your honest observations with us. Your feedback is truly invaluable in our quest to constantly improve our offerings. We hope you find accommodations that better suit your needs on your next visit to Asheville.

Warmly,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Address: 151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reflects the city itself- vibrant, eclectic, soulful, and embracing! Come and experience this boutique hotel in the heart of downtown. Complimentary parking allows you to leave your car- and cares, behind, as you explore this unique area! Spacious rooms, full-service bar and bistro, and spa-inspired bathrooms complete with Aveda products, ensures your stay will leave you feeling pampered and renewed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.