We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel Great Downtown Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
GreenLeadersGold level
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel Great Downtown Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

When we entered our room my wife said this was the best hotel she has probably ever stayed at. I would agree the design flair and the modern design motifs were great and well appreciated. All of the staff was very friendly and the concierge was more than happy to help with activity or restaurant selections.

We also liked how there was fresh filtered water on our floor, granted this is not on every floor but it was on ours and we made ample use of it.

Most of all we loved the location to downtown, it was a very easy walk to all of the restaurants and shopping downtown has to offer and it was right off the freeway for arrival and leaving. I'd definitely look here again.

Only downside is they do not have a pool that were were aware of at least.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor with a water filter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are so pleased that you had an outstanding experience with us in Downtown Asheville. We absolutely love having the opportunity to show our guests what we love most about this boutique mountain town. Western North Carolina is home to so many beautiful natural watering holes, we would be happy to recommend one on your next visit to Asheville.

Warmly,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    277
    83
    28
    17
See reviews for
127
540
35
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just returned from a trip to Asheville and stayed at Indigo on the advice of another traveler. It was a terrific hotel with exceptionally nice staff and well appointed rooms. It's only a few minutes walk to the Arcade or major downtown restaurants (Wall Street is a 5 min walk). The rooms are well appointed with "hardwood" floors, a terrific shower and interesting architectural touches. I was also grateful for the convenient and free parking!

The only downsides were that the view from our room wasn't the best (we overlooked a telecom company parking lot) and there was an occasional amount of significant traffic noise , but it was never a major issue.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up and on the city side of the hotel (not on the highway side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you had such an exceptional experience with us in Asheville. We are the ideal "home base" for visitors who want to explore Asheville on foot. Perhaps on your next visit we can interest you in one of our luxury penthouse suites, so that you can enjoy the breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

Warm Regards,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas texas usa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Loved the service, location and rooms. We parked and enjoyed walking everywhere downtown, lots of great eateries and shops. We had a big group with all sorts of travel issues, lost luggage, late planes, etc and the staff was always accomodating friendly and very helpful. Loved the breakfasts here. Our rooms were fabulously big and modern with beautiful views.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are so proud that our team was able to provide you with such exception service during your visit. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Asheville!

Best Wishes,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I paid $300 a night and overall were pleased. Bed was very comfortable. Convenient enough location, but a 10-15 min walk to the farthest but busiest parts of downtown. But still close enough to the action and the walk is all with shops and restaurants along the way. The Loft has better location but I was happy with our choice as the Loft was $360/night. Don't even think about staying "very convenient to downtown or just "5 minutes" away. Might as well go to a different city because the fun of Asheville is being downtown.

Lobby is kind of stark but that's the look they are going for. Room was same...wood floors, no rugs/carpets. We lucked out with a nice large corner room (814). Staff was pleasant and helpful...especially the valet guys. The negatives: the elevators are super slow because they only have 2 for a 12 story hotel. The pressure on the showerhead was awlful. It was hard to get wet. No tub, and only one sink in the bathroom. For $300/night it would be nice to have 2 sinks. Probably deserves a "3 and a half star" given the price. My guess is off-season the price drops dramatically. At $200/ night I give it 4 stars for sure. Asheville is a fun town! If you havent been you need to go. Gil

Room Tip: get high NE corner if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to provide excellent service and comforting accommodations. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your visit in downtown Asheville.

Warmest Wishes,

Jamie Bratcher
Guesr Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My daughter and I are currently spending 4 days at the Indigo in Asheville. While the room decor is nice it is definitely not well thought out. To charge our iPhones and iPad we must move furniture and unplug lights and the clock. There are no outlets nor charging stations near the desk (which is placed directly in front of the only mirror in the room). The cleanliness and in-room coffee is what I would expect to find at a 2 star hotel. No attention to the details that make a hotel stay a vacation.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
I appreciate that you took the time to share your honest observations with us. Your feedback is truly invaluable in our quest to constantly improve our offerings. We hope you find accommodations that better suit your needs on your next visit to Asheville.

Warmly,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Asheville for a weekend and waited till the last minute to get a hotel. Hotel indigo was the only one with rooms left. It was pricey but worth it. The staff was friendly and we cannot rave enough about Andy, the bartender. He was fabulous! Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. Andy is truly a treasure, and we will gladly pass along your praise. We so look forward to serving you again in Asheville!

Warmest Wishes,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I've titled my review this way because we really liked this hotel very much, however, for my wife and I we couldn't understand why they didn't install soundproof windows as the hotel is right next to the highway. That said the service was great and our room was beautiful with the best views in the city(room 715). They need to address having a place to hang something in the bathroom. The snack bar in the lobby needs to label their brownies as the first one we got was with cayenne pepper and the second one which we exchanged for was mint. Enough about this. The best part for us was that you don't need your car once you've parked. Everything is conveniently in walking distance. Bring your earplugs and enjoy.

Room Tip: Corner kings not floors 2 and 7 if you don't want to be on a pet floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your observations with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, despite the noise disturbances you encountered. We are working on improving the sound-proofing in our rooms. Thank you once more for your kind words.

Warm Regards,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Address: 151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reflects the city itself- vibrant, eclectic, soulful, and embracing! Come and experience this boutique hotel in the heart of downtown. Complimentary parking allows you to leave your car- and cares, behind, as you explore this unique area! Spacious rooms, full-service bar and bistro, and spa-inspired bathrooms complete with Aveda products, ensures your stay will leave you feeling pampered and renewed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.