We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother with a penthouse Suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
GreenLeadersGold level
flowery branch
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't bother with a penthouse Suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great hotel, everything is just perfect, but please save your $ and forget about the Penthouse King Suites, they are smaller than regular rooms, have a pathetic view, have no feng-shui at all, very much an after thought.
The Penthouse with balconys with the west view would be the only ones to consider, otherwise save your $ and spend them with the local merchants, who need them.
Very disappointed with our experience. Our last visit to Indigo before we become residents of Asheville.

Room Tip: Ask for a west facing room a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am so sorry you did not enjoy the luxury of our new penthouse suites. Perhaps we can find alternate accommodations for you should you ever need a "staycation" during your residence in Asheville. Welcome to Asheville! We hope you enjoy living in "the Land of the Sky!"

Warm Regards,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    277
    83
    28
    17
See reviews for
129
542
36
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in downtown Asheville. Close to lots of restaurants and shops. Room was nice and well decorated. Front desk was very friendly and so were the valet guys. I didn't get a chance to check out the restaurant in the hotel hut it looked nice. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. We so look forward to your next visit!

Warmly,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at the Indigo for two nights. On the positive side, the location is outstanding, a couple block walk to the start of the downtown area. Nice little restaurant downstairs and a good amount of underground parking. Room was a bit small, no carpeting, so the floor is a little cold. Kind of a funky vibe, which is common with Indigos.

Now the bad news, we got to Asheville fairly early and parked in the hotels underground parking lot. We were told we would be contacted when our room was ready so we headed downtown. "0fficial" check on was at 3:00 and were given all indications that the hotel was not at all full and we could get in prior to that. We were not contacted and when we got to the hotel at 2:58 we were told that none of the rooms on our floor were ready. When I told the person at the front desk that we were originally told that we could get in early and now we would not be getting into our room anytime soon, she said "we'll, it's not 3:00 yet". IT WAS 2:59 BY NOW. We finally got into our room about 20 minutes later and there were still a number of pissed off people in the lobby waiting for there rooms.

The next day we got back from Biltmore at about 4:00 and our room wasn't cleaned. They finally came about 5:15 to clean it.

So of you like a good location, funky vibe and very bad service, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
I want you to know how much we appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to hear you appreciated the location and decor of our gorgeous hotel in downtown Asheville. However, excellent service is our main priority. I apologize that you did not experience the world-class service we strive to provide. I would be honored to speak with you to personally address your concerns.

Warmly,

Jamie Bratcher
jbratcher@hlihotels.com
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I love this hotel. After spending three nights at a different hotel in downtown Asheville, I stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Indigo. The corner room offered a great view of the mountains. It was large, clean, comfortable and designed in a fun manner. The bathroom was unique with just a shower...a very very large shower.
The staff was friendly and helpful from the parking attendant to the front desk to the restaurant staff. Parking was convenient and easy.
I ate breakfast at the hotel twice. I simply had two eggs over easy with turkey sausage...cooked perfectly and delicious. They also had the best coffee.
I booked my stay through Priceline and don't believe I was treated differently from any other customer. This will be my hotel of choice when I return to Asheville.

Green Features: The hotel is eco-friendly but I cannot speak to any specifics.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your compliments of our dedicated team and kind comments about our wonderful hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. we hope to see you again in Asheville soon!

Warmly,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel is located 50 feet from the interstate exit. A 1 1/2 block walk from the heart of downtown restaurants and shoppes. Anything downtown is less than a 10 minute walk. All Vanderbilt sights are an easy few minutes by car. The hotel is modern and chic. A perfect boutique hotel. We booked this hotel blind on Priceline and could not have been more impressed with the hotel and it's staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Indigo Concierge team is outstanding. I recommended that a dear friend of mine stay - and then called Guest Service Manager, Jamie Brachter to coordinate a special welcome surprise upon his arrival. Not only was his room prepared with balloons and chocolates, but he was upgraded to a corner suite with an incredible view. THIS is customer service. THANK YOU! As an executive accustomed to the same old business travel scene, he was blown away. I have no doubt he'll choose Indigo again. I know I will.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Made my normal business Priceline reservation and called the hotel right after I made the reservation to ask for 2 twin beds. Wow. You would have thought that I was asking for a free room or my last name was Zimmerman. These snotty people said because I had booked through Priceline they would't guarantee me anything! Not even a roll-away.

Too bad for me. Low rent businessman stupid enough to book through Priceline. In all my years of booking through Priceline I have never been treated like this from a hotel. Asheville snobs. I only come from Palm Beach.

You have been warned. Stay somewhere else where they care. Three different Priceline agents tried to get the hotel to make an accommodation. No way! Now that's customer service for you. Can't wait to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Address: 151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reflects the city itself- vibrant, eclectic, soulful, and embracing! Come and experience this boutique hotel in the heart of downtown. Complimentary parking allows you to leave your car- and cares, behind, as you explore this unique area! Spacious rooms, full-service bar and bistro, and spa-inspired bathrooms complete with Aveda products, ensures your stay will leave you feeling pampered and renewed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.