We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary, Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Contemporary, Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hotel Indigo is an excellent choice if downtown Asheville is your target. A European contemporary decor distinguishes the space as well as the rooms, as do exceptional views of the valley, city and mountains. With free parking and a location next to one of the city's arteries, access is easy. Walking a block or so lead to downtown restaurants, shops, and entertainment. Staff proved attentive, the room comfortable, and service good. Think the spare and sleek style of a Swedish contemporary hotel and you won't be disappointed. Prices vary with season and day of the week making the hotel a great buy for mid-week stays and approaching pricey for weekends and high-season. That said, compared to other downtown locations, it should be near the top of the list.

Room Tip: corner rooms provide great perspectives on the city and surroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for this thorough review of our wonderful hotel in downtown Asheville. Our team happily provides local insights on all the great things there are to do in Asheville. We appreciate your kind words!

Warmest Regards,

Jamie Bratcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    273
    81
    28
    17
See reviews for
125
533
35
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed here in a great corner room. Plenty of space even after staying in the "presidential suite on our last hotel in Atlanta"
Fast room service, love the location, was expecting an upgraded holiday inn, but it actually is not bad at all"
Only negative was the awful water pressure in the big beautiful shower"

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A bit pricey for a hotel room but the location and the services offered (valet parking, bar with food service in lobby) along with the clean room really made it worth it. Just outside the main tourist downtown area, we were able to walk 3 blocks and be at the stores and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over 240, that way you are looking at all the trees and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Indigo for two nights last week. Conveniently located off I240, this is a combination boutique hotel/apt building. Nice rooms w/ hardwood floors, great bed and good shower. Serves lemonade or ice tea in the afternoon w/ complimentary brownies. Elevators are small, and somewhat slow. Lobby bar is nice, but for $8+ a drink get rid of that measured shot. If you must drink the daily specials ie $2.50 Mimosa are a much better option. Also, probably should skip the valet parking ($15), as the self parking is very convenient. All in all a good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher up room, we were on the 2nd floor looking at the parking lot, higher rooms probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Though average review - it is not a reflection of the beauty of the hotel and amenities, but the management. For such a nice hotel, with lovely rooms and views, I found the management to be not at the same calibre. I requested a one night extension at the same rate, and was told to speak with the manager, Sherry (sp?), the following day. When I went down to speak with her the next morning, I was given a message by a staff person that to extend my stay by a night would be at a significantly higher rate. I was not given the common courtesy of speaking directly to a manager (found that very odd considering she was there in the hotel and on duty). I understand it being a holiday season, but it was particularly rainy the whole week and the room was available for another night, and my take is that "true and outstanding customer service" is about making your customers happy. So, I give this hotel a modest rating not for its accommodations but it needs to improve its customer service by its managers to be considered a top notch hotel in Asheville. The hotel could have earned a loyal customer during our first stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. As a collective team, our priority is excellent customer service. It is helpful to know when we may not be providing the "wow" effect we so desire, even as a management team. You, as our guest, are our best resource for knowing when and how to improve.
If you feel so inclined, do connect with me directly the next time you chose to visit the lovely city of Asheville. I would be honored for another opportunity to provide you with our famous southern hospitality.

Warmest Regards,

Jamie Bratcher
jbratcher@hlihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at the Indigo last year and thought the hotel was great. My thoughts have since changed after my last stay.
First off, the hotel staff were great, I have no complaints. We decided on this stay to spend a couple extra dollars and stay in an executive suite. The room was just plain awful for price. It basically looked and felt like a private hospital room and for two people it was very cramped.
The absolute worst thing about the stay was the noise from adjoining rooms. Granted we were surrounded by party animals, but even when they toned it down after a call to the front desk we could still hear every little noise that they made. The walls are thin and most of the noise travels through the hvac vents, a serious flaw in the design of this hotel.
The hotel did reimburse us for one night and that was nice of them. I am, however, not happy with the fact that I was charged $15.00 a day for valet service that I didn't use. My vehicle was parked for me when I arrived because I basically had no choice, I was blocked in.
I didn't notice this charge until I got home. Considering we got a free night they can keep their $45.00.

Room Tip: Executive suites are not worth the extra money. They are not as nice as standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
I appreciate that you took the time to write us some feedback. I am so sorry that your perception of our hotel deteriorated so drastically. Our team is our most valuable asset, and I am pleased that you experienced their excellent service. We are currently undergoing renovations in our beautiful penthouse suites to alleviate any discomfort with noise. If there is anything at all we can do to alleviate the stress of your trip, please contact me at jbratcher@hlihotels.com.

Warmest Regards,
Jamie Bratcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

By staying downtown, we were able to park the car and walk everywhere. Restaurants, shops & points of interest all within a 5 block radius. This was great since Asheville is congested.
The staff could not have been more accommodating. Great food in the café.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Address: 151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reflects the city itself- vibrant, eclectic, soulful, and embracing! Come and experience this boutique hotel in the heart of downtown. Complimentary parking allows you to leave your car- and cares, behind, as you explore this unique area! Spacious rooms, full-service bar and bistro, and spa-inspired bathrooms complete with Aveda products, ensures your stay will leave you feeling pampered and renewed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.