We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
GreenLeadersGold level
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

By staying downtown, we were able to park the car and walk everywhere. Restaurants, shops & points of interest all within a 5 block radius. This was great since Asheville is congested.
The staff could not have been more accommodating. Great food in the café.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    277
    83
    28
    17
See reviews for
128
540
36
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Easley
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I had tickets for a sunrise hot air balloon ride. We were scheduled to meet the shuttle at 6:20AM at a downtown parking garage. I went to my favorite travel site, Trip Advisor, to find a downtown hotel and decided on Hotel Indigo. Our balloon ride was cancelled due to predicted high winds but we still enjoyed our stay in Asheville. Our reservation was for a corner room with a view of the city, mountains, and a king bed. We were taken to a room by the interstate, very noisy, with a double or queen bed. We went down to the desk and were reassigned . Our next room was a large corner room with lots of windows and a king bed. I had requested a fridge for my husband's meds but none available. I don't know if other rooms have tubs, this one didn't. Personally I prefer a bath. Hotel has very limited parking for check in/check out The hotel is within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and public parking. We plan to stay at Hotel Indigo when we reschedule the balloon ride. If you stay here, check out the 151 Bistro located in the lobby. Great breakfast.

Room Tip: corner room. .Do not stay by interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a great experience we had at Hotel Indigo! We stayed for one night while we checked out downtown Asheville. Great location within walking distance to downtown restaurants, night life, and shopping.

My only complaint occurred upon arrival in the parking lot where I felt the valet parking attendant was pushing us to use their service. When I resisted, he said he would comp the valet parking fee but, I honestly just wanted to park our own car and avoid having to tip. (I know this sounds cheap but we didn't have much luggage since only staying one night). When I turned down the service, he told me I couldn't park in the temporary registration parking spaces while we checked in because those were valet parking only. Really? We were directed to park on the other side of the building which was fine but it could have been handled better and we didn't feel very welcome upon our initial arrival to the hotel. I have to say, the attendant was very young and looked like he had just eaten candy as his lips were blue!!

All that aside, we were greeted by very friendly and professional front desk staff and were given an upgrade on the room. What an upgrade! Our room was beautiful with gorgeous views of the mountains through floor to ceiling windows of the penthouse suite. The a/c wasn't working in the room so we contacted the front desk. Maintenance arrived literally within a minute and they had it fixed within 30 minutes. I had never had hotel maintenance respond so quickly and actually fix the problem. Our room was clean and plush. It had everything we needed and then some. We didn't want to leave!

The lobby is very welcoming and a concierge was available. I was also impressed in receiving a phone call a few days before our arrival from the concierge to see if we had any questions. I had never received a call like this before but it was impressive. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and highly recommend if have the opportunity to stay in the wonderful town of Asheville. We hope to be back soon!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The staff went out of their way to make our trip pleasant. Henry made sure we were happy with the room. Brian at the bar gave us great advise of where to go with our kids. My only complaint is that there was minimum water pressure for the shower and no pool.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My friend and I checked into the Hotel Indigo and were delighted with our room. It was beautiful, stylish and the beds were very comfortable. But, the location was the outstanding feature. We were able to walk out the front door and then a few blocks to great cafes and shops. The shops and cafes were all one of a kind. The hotel staff were extremely helpful. They were happy for us to leave our car in their garage after checkout so we could continue to enjoy the delightful Asheville downtown area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My Husband and I stayed for two nights. The staff was friendly upon arrival. We were going to self-park and the valet realized that the roof rack on my Husband's vehicle may be too tall for the garage and he comped our valet fees for our stay. The front desk staff was very friendly. Tea and snacks were available for guests. We had booked a standard room. We were taken to our room and noticed that a small piece of dry wall hanging from the window and some dry wall chips on the floor. We were on our way out to lunch and told the desk. They called 20 min later and upgraded us to the Penthouse floor. The suite was spacious and open and airy. Furniture was comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. The fire alarm went off the first evening and we were told to come down to the lobby. It turned out someone was smoking in their room and we got a round on the hotel. Alex was a great bartender. The Staff was great. We would stay again.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the penthouse suites. They are open, and airy. The bathroom is large with doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I love to come to Asheville for the downtown. So we always try to stay at this location as much as possible. It's great for walking to where we wanna go. We've never had an issue with the rooms or service. Upon check-in Meredith was courteous and professional. Also, any staff member that approached us at least acknowledged us. So needless to say I gave a 5 on every category but service. I will say a minor rough patch was 20 minutes to closing the bar the bartender made us well aware he was closing it up at 10:00. I understand just felt like it could have been worded differently to not be so abrupt about it. So as always fantastic stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Address: 151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reflects the city itself- vibrant, eclectic, soulful, and embracing! Come and experience this boutique hotel in the heart of downtown. Complimentary parking allows you to leave your car- and cares, behind, as you explore this unique area! Spacious rooms, full-service bar and bistro, and spa-inspired bathrooms complete with Aveda products, ensures your stay will leave you feeling pampered and renewed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.