We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Asheville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
GreenLeadersGold level
Smyrna, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Asheville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife and I just spent a weekend at Hotel Indigo and had a very positive experience with this quirky little hotel near downtown Asheville. The service was excellent, from the front desk to the waitstaff, super friendly and always eager to help! We opted for a high corner room facing towards the mountains and found the sunrise/sunset views to be really breathtaking. Dogs are welcome and plentiful at this place (wish we could travel with ours) and the only thing I would change is maybe soundproofing the rooms a bit better...hardwood floors are a nice way to clean the pet poop, not so good for sound dampening!
Overall, totally recommend this great hotel and we will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor corner room and you get windows on 2 walls and great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoInKeeperAVL, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are happy you anjoyed your stay with us. We continue to work on solutions to reduce any noise levels inside the guest rooms.
My Best,
Barbara Kulwiec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    277
    83
    28
    17
See reviews for
128
541
36
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, GA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Hotel Indigo over Presidents' weekend. The hotel itself is classy, cool, quiet and service-oriented. It ISN'T a Country Inn & Suites, and it's not a B & B, either. It has no "TV area," sofa, refrigerator or microwave--nor homemade breakfast.
It is a high-rise, partly condo building with underground parking (parking is a challenge in Asheville) and is about a block and a half from what I'd consider downtown. We had no problem with that, but if you want to "step outside" the hotel and be downtown, this isn't for you.
The hotel caters to couples more than families or the GIRLS WEEKEND crowd. The rooms are better for a couple; (smallish), the bathroom is not totally private (louvered door) and the rooms lack any extra space like a balcony or TV area .But it was a quiet, well-appointed, hotel with a well-trained staff.
This was a great place to stay, but I do think it's good to know what a hotel is like before you spend $$$ and then realize it's not what you prefer.

Room Tip: Arrive just before check-in to get a great room AND a parking space. The driveway, ramp, and parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoInKeeperAVL, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for your great comments! Please come visit us again soon.
My best,
Barbara Kulwiec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville tn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

hip, clean, quiet, great location! Asheville is a good walking city so staying here was the perfect location. Great view of the mountains too!

Room Tip: choose side away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is my first experience with the Hotel Indigo chain of hotels; I would definitely return to Asheville's Indigo and looking forward to visiting other cities as well. This is an antidote for large, overstuffed, pretentious hotels or finding yourself in a bland same ol' same ol' hotel room. Indigo has very unique rooms, comfortable beds, awesome shower, interesting use of recyclable materials, good food in the lobby, easy parking, good price, and great staff -- Jaime the concierge gave excellent recommendation for dinner (Zambra) and even arranged for special services for our group. We were warmly welcomed at the registration desk after a long day and offered (without asking) an upgrade to king bed rooms.

Room Tip: Would recommend upgrade to king bed and asking for a room at the end of the hall. Doors make a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

Would highly recommend. The staff is super as is the service. Our package included tickets to Biltmore....a must see if you haven't.
Special kudos for the shower!!
Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoInKeeperAVL, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for your post! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again soon!
Warm regards,
Barbara Kulwiec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I love staying at this hotel in Asheville. The location is unbeatable, the rooms are clean and modern, and they allow your dogs to stay with you. We have stayed here a few times, and they even inquire about our dogs and how they are doing on the trips when we are unaccompanied. This is a wonderful place to stay - feels like home in all the best ways!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoInKeeperAVL, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
We are so glad you love our hotel! Thank you for posting a review! Please come visit us again soon!
Warm regards,
Barbara Kulwiec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The staff at this hotel blew me away by going above and beyond to look after us (although we are only a one night stay). The concierge called in advance of our stay and helped us make our plans. The staff made up a display (treat with card & balloons!) in our room to help make our anniversary special. The first thing i noticed when I entered the room was it was so clean it looked as if no one had ever stayed in there before us. Dark hardwoods without as much as a spec of fuzz! We were very impressed that the rooms included mini Keurig coffee machines and AVEDA bath/hair care products. Bed comfort and linens were Heavenly. Liked that the rooms are very open and contemporary.
Right off the lobby is a coffee/breakfast bar that we did not eat at but I saw other guests eating what looked like very nice omelets.
To those of you that are noise sensitive, just be aware that the hotel is located right off the interstate at the beginning of downtown area. I was not personally bothered by it, but that's life in the city. This hotel is very convenient to downtown. Would definitely recommend. Great service, beautiful hotel, good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoInKeeperAVL, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we could help make your anniversary more memorable. Please come visit us again soon!
Warm regards,
Barbara Kulwiec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Address: 151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reflects the city itself- vibrant, eclectic, soulful, and embracing! Come and experience this boutique hotel in the heart of downtown. Complimentary parking allows you to leave your car- and cares, behind, as you explore this unique area! Spacious rooms, full-service bar and bistro, and spa-inspired bathrooms complete with Aveda products, ensures your stay will leave you feeling pampered and renewed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.