We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visitor education center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asheville Visitor Center

Asheville Visitor Center
36 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28806
+1 828-258-6101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 176 things to do in Asheville
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Want to know one of the best ways to save money and find a room in the Asheville area in the fall? Make your first stop the Asheville Visitor Center in downtown Asheville at 36 Montford Avenue. Pick up brochures and coupons from area attractions and accommodations. For help with finding your way around Asheville, chat with one of the many volunteers who can help customize your visit and provide insider information.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Visitor education center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

In the Chamber of Commerce building on the west side of Montford Avenue just north of I-240. Lots of good and accurate information, a good gift shop for all kinds of Asheville brand stuff. There's a lot more to Asheville tosee than the Biltmore House and the Center has it all.. See the Thomas Wolfe House downtown, the Smith-McDowell House on Victoria next to Asheville-BuncombeTechnical College, and north of town on US 25 the Vance Birthplace. Vance and Wolfe are state museums; Smith-McDowell run by a local group. Vance shows what life here was like in 1800, Smith-McDowell in the mid to late 1800's, and Wolfe life in a boarding / guest house in the 1920's,

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, CA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good place to go to first before exploring Asheville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a very large visitor's center. There were a lot of staff there and they were very helpful. There are coupons and discounts available so I recommend you stop here first. There are all kinds of maps and brochures here. This is also where the grey line and white line tour bus stops are, so you'll want to come here if you book those tours.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stop here for any information needed & maps. They also had free snacks when we stopped there. Everyone was super friendly and helpful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good spot for info”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Good spot for information gathering. Worth taking the moment and speaking with the many assistants there to help. Did help in finding attractions off season.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Make this your first stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Luckily my rental car company worker told me to go there first. Thank goodness I did. Took the trolley tour that went all over town for first half day. Gave me a great orientation to city with some tips and stories. Good for the next day which allowed me to go to the Grove Park Inn Gingerbread display w/o paying for parking (new this year). Allowed me to book my Bilmore Estate Trip at a discount. cute gift shop with all local stuff. Free parking there so after your trolley tour you can leave care there and walk to downtown.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asheville Visitor Center also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Asheville Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asheville Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.