We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice spirits, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Stag Grill

Red Stag Grill
11 Boston Way, Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Asheville, NC 28803
828-398-5600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Stag Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Biltmore Ave.
Description: The Red Stag Grill Lounge has an extensive wine by the glass menu and a lively bar scene within a casual setting in the heart of Biltmore Village
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, nice spirits, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Whether you get a chance to enjoy the piano bar with a great selection of wine & beer, or grabbing a nice breakfast - you will enjoy coming to the Red Stag Grill!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    114
    44
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“OK dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We made reservations for our anniversary dinner. When we arrived the restaurant was fairly empty and they gave us a lovely table for two by the window...very romantic. The next table that was seated was a party of 6 right next to us! Romance went right out the window. There were many available tables in the place, so I don't understand why they did that.

I ordered a glass of wine and it was the smallest amount of wine I have ever been served in a restaurant....hardly worth $12 for several swallows. At any rate, I ordered a filet and my husband got the trout. The presentations were nice and both entrees were good, but not outstanding. Service was prompt and accommodating. We were not offered a dessert or anything complimentary for our anniversary.

With all the wonderful restaurants in Asheville, I wouldn't come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Terrific experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I had reservations at the Corner Kitchen. Being that we stayed at the impeccable Grand Bohemian, we decided to have a cocktail at the Red Stag located in the hotel, before going to dinner at The Corner Kitchen.

There were several reviews online that touted The Corner Kitchen and even the staff at the hotel said good things about the place. While having a drink at The Red Stag, we saw some of the selections from the menu being served to other patrons in the bar...extremely impressive! We mentioned to our bartender that we had reservations at The Corner Kitchen and she even said it was a nice place. Frankly, nothing on the menu at The Corner Kitchen really "wow'd" me, so I asked the bartender for a Red Stag menu...and I'm REALLY glad I did!

We decided to stay at The Red Stag. We saw the chopped salad being served in the bar and were blown away! Unfortunately, we decided to go with the Caesar salad...it was good, but the chopped salad was SOOO much more impressive!!! My wife ordered the crab cake appetizer as an entree and it was delicious. I had the black grouper...SPECTACULAR!!! Needless to say, we were very happy with our decision to stay at The Red Stag!

Great choice...quite sure you'll feel the same way!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal NC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Met Our Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch here while staying at the Grand Bohemian Hotel. Service was efficient and little time elapsed between ordering and delivery of our lunch.

I ordered the meatloaf ($13) and my wife ordered the grilled cheese with truffle fries ($11). When the food was delivered, I realized the meatloaf dish had portobello mushrooms which wasn't mentioned on the menu (I have an allergy to portobellos). The server came over, apologized profusely and offered to have the dish made over without the mushroom gravy. My wife and I decided to forego all of that and just switch plates.

My wife joked that my portobello allergy worked out for the best. She loved the meatloaf, very tender and delicious with grilled asparagus. I really liked the grilled cheese, which had several different kinds of cheese including gruyere which added a nice twist on an old favorite. The truffle fries were hot and crispy. We found the presentation of the dishes to be clever as well. As far as prices, we found them to be fair considering the amount/quality of the food and the location of the restaurant.

This meal was great and fully meet our expectations. Don't be afraid to try out the Red Stag if you're in the area!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience. Pricey.. but good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Located in the Grand Bohemian Hotel, one might expect average hotel fare. Au contraire. This was a very nice meal in a lovely "lodge-like" atmosphere. The decor was most appealing and dinner was quiet delicious. I enjoyed a filet and a wedge salad. Very tasty. My husband enjoyed halibut and the strawberry salad. We feel that a quality restaurant should serve tasty bread. The Red Stag bread was wonderful. My husband ordered the banana pudding and honestly, homemade is better. If banana pudding is served with whipped cream and not meringue.. just don't order it. All in all a very nice meal in a lovely setting and the service was excellent as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Stag Grill also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Red Stag Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Stag Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.