We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just ok.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gray Line Trolley Tours

Gray Line Trolley Tours
36 Montford Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801 (Historic Montford)
+1 828-251-8687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 102 Activities in Asheville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop on board one of Gray Line's nostalgic trolleys for a fully narrated journey, highlighting the history, homes and hot-spots of this "city of surprises." Hop-On and hear the story of a city rich in architecture, history and the arts...Hop-Off and experience it's eclectic shops and galleries; its world class culinary and craft brew scenes. It's fun and informative! Join us and see why we are Asheville's Most Sightseeing Tour!
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It was just ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Although the visitors center is very nice, the trolley was not as great as I had thought it would be. I think maybe it was the length. That was a long time to sit still and listen to the driver and he was insistent that we listen to him. I felt like I was back in grade school. We had wanted to get an overview of the city and we did get that. However, there was a lot of construction and detours. It seems we spent a long time in the historic area then rushed thru the rest. it was nearly 2 hours long.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iheartasheville, General Manager at Gray Line Trolley Tours, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
MarylandSharon, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We certainly strive to be much more than, "just ok" and I am sorry that you didn't enjoy it as much as others. The tour length is posted at just under two hours (1.5 - 1.75). They have been filming a movie throughout Asheville over the past week or more. So thank you for persevering with us through all of the chaos that movie shoot has provided. Being at the mercy of Hollywood has certainly made for an interesting week, but who knows maybe we'll all be famous by the end of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    49
    11
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, North Carolina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Don't do it ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

As I write this I'm still standing at stop #5. You spend more time waiting for the trolleys because they are all full then you do riding it. Thus, if do this tour never get off. If you hop off you may never get back on. This is our second 1 hour wait! Just say no!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iheartasheville, General Manager at Gray Line Trolley Tours, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Jeff C, I apologize that this was your experience. On Saturday, July 26, there were some unusual circumstances that did not allow us to provide our typical level of service. It is, however, a continued effort of ours to always provide an entertaining, informative, and enjoyable experience to our guests. I hope that in the future you will give us the opportunity to provide a more typical experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We went on the ghost tour with high expectations, but we were disappointed. The tour guide knew her stories, but she spent a lot of time telling dumb jokes, joking back and forth with the driver, Mary, and talking/joking with passengers in the front of the trolley - leaving the rest of us to hear one side of the conversation. She lacked the drama and enthusiasm needed to conduct a successful ghost tour.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iheartasheville, General Manager at Gray Line Trolley Tours, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
I'm sorry the tour did not meet you expectations. Feedback is valuable to us because it helps us increase our level of customer satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our tour guide Brian was amazing. He's a bald dude and teacher, if you see him, go on his tour. He knew the city like the back of his hand and provided plenty of humor.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Brian did an impressive job highlighting the sights of interest for the various families and groups on our tour. This was a solid orientation to the city, making seeing a lot in a short time very accessible for our group with some mobility issues.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Line Trolley Tours also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Gray Line Trolley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gray Line Trolley Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.