We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right under my nose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Modesto

Modesto
1 Page Avenue #138, Asheville, NC 28801 (Downtown Asheville)
828-255-4133
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Modesto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #144 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Battery Park Ave
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Right under my nose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Being a regular visitor to Asheville and soon to own a second home here, I've somehow overlooked this place. Extensive Greek or influenced restaurant, the food and service were good in the outdoor seating area. The only knock was that the bartender stumped his/her toe on both drinks and were sent back for repairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    47
    20
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So fresh and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Enjoyed a well prepared lunch with very fresh ingredients and great service. The four of us all thought the food to be very tasty and the menu quite imaginative. Highly recommend a visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal. Once of the best we have had in a long time. Excellent starter of wood fired octopus which wouldn't have been something we would have ordered however our waiter encouraged us and we are delighted we did. It was amazingly tender with delicious roasted vegetables and a balsamic glaze. We then shared a first course of their rigatoni with bolognese sauce. Once again our expectations were exceeded with the hearty and rich sauce over organic pasta. Perfectly seasoned. Our last course was their pistachio encrusted red snapper that was served with risotto and delicious roasted vegetables from their own farm. A perfect dish with delicate snapper and creamy risotto. Service was attentive but not intrusive with the courses timed perfectly leaving enough time in between so that we were not rushed. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stop walking around with your smartphone looking for a place to eat, this is it! =)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wow. I heard some good things about Modesto and was not disappointed. Great food! from the homemade ketchup to the amazing cheeses and watermelon gazpacho--even a truly homemade veggie burger!.... mmm.... definitely going back soon. Totally worth the 50 minute drive. They locally source a lot of what they serve, even from their own farm, and update their menu monthly to reflect this. checkout their website too, the chef's passion is palpable.

you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Delishous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Loved the smokey flavor from the wood fire oven. Our food was delicious. Service was kind of slow but our waiter was extremely helpful as far as things to do in the area. The Grove Arcade area is very nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modesto also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modesto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.