We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Modesto

Modesto
1 Page Avenue #138, Asheville, NC 28801 (Downtown Asheville)
828-255-4133
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Modesto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #154 of 624 restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Battery Park Ave
Kathmandu
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had pizza and we loved it. We went to this Italian restaurant for pasta buy the menu was so complicated, we could not understand it. So we decided to order pizza. The pizza was excellent so I assume the food would be good as well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    67
    36
    17
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Though you may have to get out your wallet, Modesto is a real treat. The food is excellent, the ambience is great especially sitting outside. It is pet friendly and the wait staff are well informed, and attentive without being overbearing. All in all, one of the best places to eat in Asheville.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was surprised at the amount of negative reviews because our dining experience at Modesto could not have been better. I apologize about not remembering the name of our waiter, because he was excellent. Our Fire Roasted Romaine Lettuce Salad was very tasty. I thought the menu was very creative and not typical of most Italian restaurants. I just had probably the plainest dish on the menu, Sicilian Tomato Sauce and Fresh Basil over Vermicelli, but our waiter told me it would be the most delicious "plain" tomato sauce I have ever eaten. He was correct! It was not your usual heavy spaghetti dish, but light and REALLY the best plain sauce I have ever eaten. I ate much more than I usually do. My husband's salmon entree looked like a work of art. He said all the fresh vegetables were as good as his salmon. We were too full, but still forced ourselves to split some tiramisu, which my husband declared the best he had ever eaten. For us, it was the perfect dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Good Italian food, pleasant quiet setting and great service at a moderate price. The Bolognese was fabulous and the serving size was just right. We especially really enjoyed the intimate seating were we could leisurely enjoy our dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“OK but not much more!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Average is about the best I can say. Average food and mediocre service.
Nothing bad but nothing good enough to remotely make me ever go back.
There are so many great restaurants that average is not good enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modesto also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modesto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.