We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Value-Mouthy Maids-Roudy neighbors!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Value Place Asheville

Save Saved
You added Value Place Asheville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Value Place Asheville
40 Monte Vista, Intersection - I-40 & Monte Vista Rd, Asheville, NC 28806   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Value-Mouthy Maids-Roudy neighbors!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Before arriving I had spoken to the Manager, Ramona a month ahead of time to reserve 3 rooms at which I was quoted $179.99 per room, per week. Not so once I saw the bill. I had asked to move my daughter into my son's room, since he only stayed a few days. She has been unable to sleep since someone above her made constant noise from 3am -@ 7am. We mentioned the noise and requested for her to be moved to the assistant Bridget who preceded to inform us the the walls are thin and that's what you pay for. Mind you the morning of check out, it just happened an employee hit our door with the vacuum cleaner, .but didn't vacuum the hall!
The rudeness and the hostile reactions from most of the employees is not worth the value of this place!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Asheville, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Value Place does everything we can to create a positive, consistent experience for every guest and we apologize if your stay did not meet your expectations. We strive to keep our property clean and safe and will address the truthful claims in this review. I have sent a separate email to you and will be glad to explain the charges on your bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
2
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My family and I stayed at the value place extended stay on monte vista road in Asheville. I was viciously attacked by bed bugs. I was covered in about 50-60 bites and pulled a live bug off of me. We also found dead bugs and bed bug shells in the room. We called the night manager-they did nothing. In the morning my fiancée went to talk to the asst manager and she said she would kick us out immediately bc we brought them. She also said we would not be getting a refund and had no legal recourse. We asked to file a report. She said they don’t do that. She then sent two housekeepers to the room to look for the bugs and they went straight to the headboards which were infested (they knew right where to go) they tried to tell us that only the linens around the bed need to be treated. This has been horrible and they won’t work with us at all! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Asheville, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Value Place was alerted of the bed bug issue in this guest's room at 11 pm. The next morning our pest control company came and inspected the issue. Value Place was very concerned about this situation, took immediate action, and refunded this guest's money. Please send me a separate email and I will be glad to send you a copy of your folio receipt, showing the refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

VP has basic motel rooms with kitchenettes (fridge, micro, 2-burner stove; albeit with no dishes, pots or utensils; there isn't even a coffee-maker). They are clean and of decent size. Wired internet is $10 extra. If we were staying for a couple of nights, we might have preferred a more upscale place. But we were expecting to stay for 2 weeks and with a weekly rate starting at $199-$209, it's hard to beat $30/nite (and over 2 weeks, that makes a big difference in the total cost).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

It is always nice to save some $$ when traveling with your family, we chose Value Place, we have stayed here before and had no issues. This time is has been people tab dancing on the floor all night long, house keeping yelling down the halls in the morning and attitude from Bridgett, the Asst. Mng. & her robots. I call people like Bridget a wanna-be, when the manager is gone, Bridgett is an acting wanna-be and does not know how to use her power for good, she just knows how to have attitude and swing a sword. I had asked her to move my daughter to another room because of all the noise in the middle of the night on the floor above her. They told me they had no rooms. I informed her I had paid for 3 rooms and we were only using 2, could they re-clean the 3 room and my daughter could move into it, as my son had stayed 2 nights & it was now vacant. She told me it would be a $25 cleaning fee. I asked her why as I am giving my room back to be available to use since they have no rooms. She informed me that this hotel is cheap because they have thin walls and floors and if I didn't like it I could move on and leave. I asked her if she was getting attitude and why, she said she was and I could checkout anytime. As I walked away, the other house keeping women there with her, made smirks, laughs & repeated our conversation as I walked away. Pure class on their part. I know you would say, you get what you pay for & you are right.
As far as clean rooms, there ok, the beds are not comfortable & the kitchens have no pans, cups or silverware. Save yourself the frustration and skip this place of no value. I have contacted corporate and am awaiting Mark Knapp the regional manger to contact me. I tell you this, because once this gets posted it is funny how hotels come back with I am sorry and hope to see you again, but when you are there and they could have made it right they don't. It is a dog and pony show.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Value Place is situated in a lovely hilly area. The staff are wonderful checking in is not a problem . I did not book ahead of time but I was accommodated on a very short notice. The room is not all that spacious but is adequate. The cable television kept me entertained. There is free Wi-Fi and it works fine. A lot of working People stay there but they are very friendly & helpful too.
There are nice eating places down the hill, and Bi-LO grocery store nearby and CVS too.
The Hotel has no cooking utensils you just have to buy from the staff or buy your own. There is Stove and Refrigerator quite alright. The Air conditioning worked quite fine.
You can connect to Asheville by Car or Bus whichever you chose. I slept well not much noise.
There is a fitness centre guests can use down the road.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I'd probably give this place 3.5 stars. Factoring in the price, it may deserve 5 stars.

Pros:
- clean and well kept
- amazing value for one week stay
- convenient location

Cons
- requires wired connection for its rather slow internet
- tiny television, with non-widescreen format
- noisy refrigerator
- totally bare kitchen, in terms of utensils

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

For our visit of 2-3 weeks, this was a perfect choice. Squeaky clean; geat price; all the essentials; friendly and efficient staff. It was a bit like moving into a good, but not fancy, neighborhood. One had enough privacy and good neighbors. What else could you ask for? We will almost certainly return.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at Value Place Asheville, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
We are truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Here at Value Place we promise a truly affordable, incredibly clean, much safer experience that's always simple and flexible to fit your needs. Again, we are very pleased that you had a great stay. We wish you well with your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Value Place Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Place Asheville

Address: 40 Monte Vista, Intersection - I-40 & Monte Vista Rd, Asheville, NC 28806
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Place Asheville is conveniently located right off of I-40, a 10-15 minute drive from the heart of downtown Asheville. The city of Asheville has something to offer everyone. Shopping, great restaurants, outdoor activities, museums, and historic landmarks are just the beginning of all the fun things to do. The city is filled with history and authenticity that is hard to find anywhere else. With its mix of Southern charm and modern lifestyle, Asheville is sure to be an enjoyable experience for anyone.If you are looking for arts and culture, Asheville is the city for you. The Asheville Art Museum is a fabulous destination for adults and children who want to experience art from the 20th and 21st centuries. The Biltmore Estate is par to none, built in 1895 by George Vanderbilt; the mansion has 255 rooms and is in the middle of the Pisgah National Forest. Another exciting museum in downtown Asheville is the Colburn Earth Science Museum.For people who love nature and the outdoors, Asheville has plenty to offer. The city has everything from hiking, biking, boating, golf and more. The Great Smoky Mountains National Park is just outside the city which offers a beautiful, preserved look at nature. From waterfalls to gorgeous hiking trails, Asheville always has something thrilling to experience.Asheville has a thriving music scene. The city has deep roots in bluegrass music, but is also home to any kind of music imaginable from jazz to rock to contemporary. Some of the exciting venues to check out include The Orange Peel, The Grey Eagle and Zambra. For the theatre buff, there are plenty of venues to catch a broadway musical or play.Once you arrive in Asheville, it might be difficult to decide what to do first. With its vibrant city life mixed with the quiet, serenity of the outdoors, Asheville is a fabulous destination for everyone. Your friendly Value Place Asheville team can be your guide to it all.Value Place is an extended stay hotel that meets every life traveler’s need for affordable, clean and secure, temporary lodging with our remarkably low weekly rates, rigorous cleanliness standards, total commitment to your comfort, privacy and peace of mind, and our just-right simplicity. Whether you’re traveling on business, pleasure, relocation, or just looking for a temporary base camp on your life’s journey, Value Place is your place.Value Place is a much better place Before you decide to stay at Value Place, we want you to be prepared—prepared for a better guest experience. What that means to us is a truly affordable, incredibly clean, safer, simple, flexible experience. And this is more than just a nice idea—it’s the Value Place promise. So how do we do it? By combining all the convenience of a hotel and all the essentials of an apartment. We’re a hybrid—and that makes us better than a hotel, an apartment or any other short-term or long-term housing accommodations you’ll find. Think about it—no extras padded into our price, no hidden fees. No lease to sign, no utilities to set up. And that’s just for starters. Find out how we’re different and what to expect when you’re here. What to expect when you arrive After a brief room tour, you’ll register, pay for the week plus a refundable $100 deposit, and agree to our house rules—which basically come down to common-sense policies that protect the privacy and security of each and every guest. Value Place is a family-friendly place, and children 17 and under stay free. To maintain a consistent guest experience at all of our properties we do have a No Pet Policy, except for service animals. Then we’ll show you to your guest room. It’s that easy. What to expect in your room Although Value Place offers several room choices, the essential features stay the same. You can always count on a simple but fully furnished studio with a kitchen that includes a full size refrigerator and freezer, a microwave, a two-burner stovetop and plenty of cabinet space. You’ll also find two drinking cups, a trash bag, a roll of bathroom tissue and a bar of soap to get you started—because at Value Place, we figure you’d rather shop on your own terms than pay for extras you may not need. If you do want to take advantage of the additional amenities and services we offer—from kitchen cookware to high-speed Internet—they’re available anytime for your convenience for a minimal fee. There’s only one thing guests never seem to be completely prepared for—how astonishingly clean our rooms are. What to expect in and around our building All Value Place properties are newly constructed from the ground up and electronically locked 24/7. That means no one can access our interior-corridor entrances without a valid key card. (No exterior room doors here like at most discount hotels or extended stay motels.) Featuring at least eight cameras and a very well lit parking lot, we keep your safety in and out of the building in mind. All public areas are cleaned daily—including our well-lit parking lot. Beyond our commitment to cleanliness and safety, we also offer vending machines and an onsite laundry room for your convenience. What to expect from our team You won’t find a friendlier team anywhere. Our helpful staff—from Studio Attendants to the Property Manager—will make sure your guest experience is a positive one, whether you need something for your room or directions to the closest car repair shop. At Value Place, you can expect courteous treatment from professionals who are committed to maintaining guest privacy and peace of mind. In fact, some team members live onsite to uphold our rigorous cleaning and safety standards. What to expect at every Value Place When it comes to Value Place, you don’t have to compete with anyone for that perfect apartment or hunt for the best hotel deal in town—we’re always the better choice. At your typical extended stay motel, discount hotel or other short-term housing solution, guests have to give up something that really matters. Not here. At Value Place you will always receive an affordable price in a Cleaner, Safer, Simpler, and Flexible property. We’re about living better through better value. And that makes us the smarter choice. Best of all? We promise a consistently positive guest experience at every Value Place you visit. Explore Value Place locations or make a reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Value Place Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Place Asheville Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Value Place Asheville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.