We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Good, but not THAT good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Admiral

The Admiral
400 Haywood Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-4234
828-252-2541
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Admiral is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Michigan Avenue
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's Good, but not THAT good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The restaurant is a little hole in the wall with bars on the windows and graffiti on the walls. The service was fine, the food was OK. I am not sure if my expectations were too high because everyone talked it up.

Steak was cooked right, but extremely fatty, I have had better cuts at Outback honestly. The grilled salad was outstanding and if you decide to eat there, highly recommended.

In most places this would have gotten a 4, but in Asheville, where the food standards are so high, this place only rates a 3.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    63
    30
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
boston
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Superb food in a comfortable, informal setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Of the various restaurants in Asheville that we visited - this was absolutely our favorite. Great drinks and terrific food in an informal, pub-type setting. We were told the place used to be a gas station. We shared a variety of small plates and particularly liked the grilled ramps and steak (which we ordered a second time).The service was also wonderful. Our only complaint was the dessert -- too contrived to be enjoyed. The check was very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“amazing gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We've been to The Admiral twice now on two different trips to Asheville. By far the best mussels I've ever had and this is something my husband and I order just about everywhere we go. From their homemade pasta, to scallops, to pork, nothing has disappointed! One of the best aspects of this place is the atmosphere-- in no way swanky, rather a dive bar feel that puts you right at home. One of the nights we were there we even had to move tables so they could clear our space for a dance floor and in less than 30 minutes the place was packed with hipsters dancing to motown. Not a place you find very often!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Looks really rough, but the food is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

You could easily overlook this place if you didn't know what you were looking for. It certainly does not look like fine dining. The inside doesn't either, and I think they try to cover that up with really dim lighting.
That being said, I'm not one to care much about how the place looks as long as it is decently clean, which the Admiral is. We had several small plates, starting with the gnocchi, which I liked but my wife didn't care for much. We also had mussels, pork belly, flat iron steak, and something else that I'm forgetting right now but were all very good.
Asheville is a town with a stupid number of great places to eat. Perhaps the best recommendation for the Admiral that I can give is that I would eat here again for sure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullowhee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“More like a "Commander" than an "Admiral"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We'd been looking forward to dining here based on some reviews, but after dining there, didn't think that the quality was all that great. We were not "warmly" welcomed by the staff who all bought their food from BJs across the road and then ate outdoors while we waited until 5 for them to let us enter (our reservation was for 5--we were a little early). The wait staff was attentive. The food was good, but not beyond what we have come to expect from a good restaurant...and $32 for the ribeye-(no salad, that's another $8) didn't really match the venue. And if it was an amazing steak, then it would have been worth it, but it was just 'good' and the sides were just okay. We like West Asheville cuisine, but this restaurant isn't one that we'll be frequenting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Admiral also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Admiral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.